Whitegate, CheshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Parishes Gotoarrow.png Whitegate

Guide to Whitegate, Cheshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Contents

Parish History

Whitegate, Cheshire
St Mary's Church, Whitegate.jpg
St Mary's Church, Whitegate
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Eddisbury
County Cheshire
Poor Law Union Northwich PLU
Registration District Northwich
Records begin
Parish registers: 1565
Bishop's Transcripts: 1576
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Middlewich
Diocese Pre-1541 - Lichfield and Coventry; Post-1540 - Chester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1541 - Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1540 - Court of the Bishop of Cheshire (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cheshire Record Office

WHITEGATE, or Newchurch (St. Mary), is a parish, in the union of Northwich, First division of the hundred of Eddisbury, South division of the county of Chester, 3¼ miles (S. W.) from Northwich; containing, with the townships of Darnhall and Marton, and parts of those of Over and Weaverham.  The parish was separated from the parish of Over in 1541. It is bounded on the north, and partly intersected, by the river Weaver; and the Liverpool and Birmingham railway passes through a portion of the parish, and has a station within a short distance. The church, a neat brick building erected about 1740[1].

Whitegate, St. Mary (C of E). An ancient parish church, originally serving the townships of Darnhall and parts of Marton (near Winsford), Over and Weaverham cum Milton. Registers of Baptisms 1565–1932, Marriages 1565–1942 and Burials 1565–1951 have been deposited at the Cheshire Record Office

The divided ancient parish of Whitegate lay in central Cheshire. Its northern section comprised the township of Marton, and parts of the townships of Over, and of Weaverham cum Milton. There were detached bits of Whitegate in the parishes of Weaverham and of Over, and detached bits of Over in the township of Marton. The southern section of the parish of Whitegate comprised the township of Darnall. The contiguous ancient parishes were, clockwise from the north, Weaverham, Great Budworth, Davenham, Middlewich, Church Minshull, Over, and Little Budworth. The extra-parochial area of Delamere Forest lay to the west of the northern section of Whitegate. In our period to 1871, the new parish of Over St John the Evangelist was created in part from Whitegate (Youngs, below) in 1863. Pevsner and Hubbard (below) date the church building to 1860-1863. The registers start in 1863.

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241236.

Church records

Whitegate St Mary parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
CPR = Cheshire Parish Register Project - free[3]
FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[4]
Whitegate St Mary Parish (1565) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1883-1906
1838-1906

CPR 1565-1871
1565-1871
1565-1871
FS PR's 1565-1909
  NONE
1565-1934
  NONE
1565-1951
  NONE
FS BT'S 1600-1909
  NONE
1600-1837
  NONE
1600-1912
  NONE
JOIN
1565-1837

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Parish registers for Whitegate, Cheshire, 1565-1951 
Microfilm of original records in the Cheshire Record Office, Chester, England. Cheshire Record Office no.: P52/1-4, P52/8/1-2.

Parish registers Content FHL Film
Baptisms, 1565-1883. Marriages, 1565-1752, 1754-1837. Burials, 1565-1845. Burials in woollen, 1678-1729. BRITISH 2106822 Items 2 - 9
Baptisms, 1883-1932; Marriages, 1838-1929. BRITISH 1736872
Marriages, 1929-1942. Burials, 1845-1951. BRITISH 1736873 Items 1 - 2

Bishop's transcripts Whitegate, 1600-1912
Microfilm of original records in the Cheshire Record Office, Chester, England.Records are not in strict chronological order. Some intermittent years are missing.Cheshire Record Office no.: ECC/219 Bishop's transcripts Whitegate,

1600-1912 

Bishop's transcripts  Content FHL Film
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1600-1601, 1604, 1607-1609, 1611, 1614-1616, 1618, 1620, 1623-1626, 1630-1631, 1633-1641, 1659-1665, 1670-1677, 1679-1709, 1711-1713. BRITISH 1736166 Item 3
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1713-1837.Baptisms, burials, 1838-1847, 1849-1853, 1879, 1892-1898, 1900-1912. BRITISH 1736167 Item 1

Complete Transcripts of the parish can be found online as part of the Cheshire Parish Register project.

Non-Conformist Churches

  • Wesleyan Methodist Association

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts

  • Northwich.

Poor Law Unions

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848). Date Accessed: 16 April 2013
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 14 October 2013.
  3. 'CPR Project Progress (As on 17 January 2014),' Cheshire Parish Register Project, accessed 1 February 2014.
  4. Cheshire Coverage, The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 16 October 2013.

Bibliography

  • C. Williams, Guide to the Cheshire Record Office ([Chester], 1991), p. 85;
  •  Guide to the local administrative units of England, Vol. II Northern England, ed. F.A. Youngs, Jr (1991), pp. 40-1;
  •  N. Pevsner and E. Hubbard, The buildings of England: Cheshire (Harmondsworth, 1971), p. 389.
  • The very complex geography of Whitegate can be followed in the base map in A.D.M. Phillips and C.B. Phillips, A new historical atlas of Cheshire (Chester, 2001).

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 17 October 2014, at 01:05.
  • This page has been accessed 3,862 times.