Whitehaven St James, CumberlandEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Cumberland Gotoarrow.png Cumberland Parishes

Guide to Whitehaven St James, Cumberland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Whitehaven St James, Cumberland
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Allerdale above Derwent
County Cumberland
Poor Law Union Whitehaven PLU
Registration District Whitehaven
Records begin
Parish registers: 1753
Bishop's Transcripts: 1753
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Copeland
Diocese Carlisle
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Richmond Western Deaneries - Copeland
Location of Archive
Cumberland Record Office

Contents

Parish History

WHITEHAVEN, a sea-port, market-town, newly enfranchised borough, and the head of a union, in the parish of St. Bees, Allerdale ward above Derwent, W. division of Cumberland, 40 miles (S. W.) from Carlisle. Whitehaven contains four chapels: St. James, St. Nicholas, Holy Trinity and Mount Pleasant. There are places of worship for Presbyterians, Particular Baptists, the Society of Friends, Independents, Wesleyans, Primitive Methodists, and Roman Catholics.[1]

Resources

Church records

Parish Registers begin in 1753

Source: Hay, Daniel. Whitehaven: An Illustrated History. Whitehaven, Cumbria: Michael Moon. Revised and enlarged edition 1979 p. 105-6

The Family History Library has the Bishop's transcripts to St James Chapelry registers from the year 1753 to 1878.

Online Records

Some online transcriptions exist for this chapelry at the following website[s] and ranges of years:

AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£)
FS = FamilySearch.org
JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£) (£)
ST JAMES WHITEHAVEN Chapelry (1753) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC None
None None
None None
None
FS 1753-1878 None 1753-1861 None None None
JOIN
None
None
None
None
None
None
ST BEES PARISH (1538) Online Records - to which St James Chapelry was attached

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP None
None None
None None
None
FS 1538-1875 None 1538-1886 None None None
JOIN
None
None
None
None
None
None

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. Two popular sites are:

Census Records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241277.

Web sites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848) Date accessed and adapted 8 August 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:17.
  • This page has been accessed 1,346 times.