Whitewell, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  go to  Lancashire go to  Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Whitewell, Lancashire family history and genealogy: chapelry register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Contents

Chapelry History

WHITEWELL, a chapelry, in the parish of Whalley, union of Clitheroe, partly in the W. division of the wapentake of Staincliffe and Ewcross, W. riding of York, and partly in the Lower division of the hundred of Blackburn, N. division of Lancashire, 7 miles northwest by west of Clitheroe. A chapel was built by at least the year 1713, and rebuilt in 1817.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Records

Church of England

Whitewell chapelry's registers of christenings, marriages and burials, along with those of the ancient parish of Whalley to which it is attached, have been mostly transcribed and are displayed online at the following web sites and ranges of years:

AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£)
FMP = FindMyPast.co.uk (£)
FREG = FreeReg
FS = FamilySearch.org
LBMD = LancashireBMD.org.uk
LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk


WHITEWELL ST MICHAEL Chapelry  (1713) Indexes

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1756-1854 1756-1848 None
LOPC 1718-1854 1756-1778, 1810-1854 1756-1769, 1813-1854
LBMD None 1838-1949, 1951-2004
None
AC
1813-1910
1813-1910
1813-1910
WHALLEY ST MARY AND ALL SAINTS PARISH (1538) Indexes (ancient parish containing WHITEWELL Chapelry)

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1538-1888 1539-1837 None
LOPC 1538-1601, 1605-1845, 1848-1860, 1862-1875 1539-1601, 1605-1647, 1653-1900 1538-1601, 1605-1840, 1843-1891
LBMD 1837-1937 None 1837-1937
FMP None 1539-1627 None
AC 1538-1601, 1605-1653; 1813-1841
1538-1601, 1605-1653; 1813-1841
1538-1601, 1605-1653; 1813-1841
FREG 1538-1631 1539-1651 1538-?


For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Whitewell and comprising the whole ancient parish of Whalley to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the WHALLEY ST MARY PARISH page.


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306899.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England Adapted. (1848), pp. 551-555. Adapted. Date accessed:08 October 2013 .

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 27 June 2014, at 15:12.
  • This page has been accessed 1,333 times.