Whitfield, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Kent Gotoarrow.png Kent Parishes

Guide to Whitfield, Kent ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


Whitfield, Kent
Whitfield St Peter Kent.jpg
Whitfield St Peter Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bewsborough
County Kent
Poor Law Union Dover PLU
Registration District Dover
Records begin
Parish registers: 1585
Bishop's Transcripts: 1561
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Dover
Diocese Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Canterbury
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Whitfield is an ancient village and a civil parish in the Dover district of Kent, see Whitfield Kent Wikipedia. The ancient village had an alias Bewsfield,which was the name recorded in the eigth century and referred to Manorial lands mentioned in the Domesday survey. In later centuries Whitfield and Lower Whitfield and 2oth century housing development "West Whitfield" are found in record sources.

The village of Church Whitfield Church Whitfield Wikipedia includes Whitfield St Peter, the Ancient Parish church in the Diocese of Canterbury. The modern parish is called Beauxfield otherwise Whitfield and a map of the parish boundary may be found at A church near you

The church of St Peter, Church whitfield Road, Whitfield has been designated as a grade II* listed building British listed building

The early Congregational Chapel dated from 1781 but was rebuilt in 1867.

See also Edward Hasted The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 9 (1800), pp. 394-400. Date accessed: 2 December 2013. at British History Online for Bewsbury manorial history as well as history of the church and Kent Churches website.

Resources

Civil Registration

See Dover Registration District

Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.

The Mansion House
(Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Tunbridge Wells
Kent TN1 1EP

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Whitfield, Kent parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[1][2][3]
Whitfield, Kent Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1585-1911 1585-1911 1744-1913 (Banns) 1744-1913 (Banns) 1594-1966 1594-1966

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306865.

 

Poor Law Unions

Dover Poor Law Union, Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See England, Kent, Wills and Probate (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Local Family History Centre

Canterbury Family History Centre, Kent

Maidstone Family History Centre, Kent

Maps and Gazetteers

WHITFIELD (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Dovor, hundred of Bewsborough, lathe of St. Augustine, E. division of Kent, 3¼ miles (N. N. W.) from Dovor. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans. [4]


Websites

References

  1. 'Canterbury baptism records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 8 November 2013.
  2. 'Canterbury banns coverage', Find My Past, accessed 11 November 2013.
  3. 'Canterbury burial records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 14 November 2013.
  4. Lewis,Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 551-555.Date accessed: 08 May 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 November 2014, at 06:30.
  • This page has been accessed 2,883 times.