Whitfield, Northumberland GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Whitfield, Northumberland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Haltwhistle|
|Parish registers: 1606|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1760|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Northumberland Record Office|
WHITFIELD, a parish, in the union of Haltwhistle, W. division of Tindale ward, S. division of Northumberland, 15 miles (W. S. W.) from Hexham. The church was rebuilt in 1784. There are places of worship for Independents, Primitive Methodists, and Wesleyans.
Whitfield is an ancient parish and nowadays is dedicated to Holy Trinity but the earlier church was decicated to St Mary. Holy Trinity was dedicated in 1860 and was the gift of the Rev'd and Mrs. J. A. Blackett-Ord in memory of William Ord Esq. from whom Mrs. Blackett-Ord had inherited the whole estate. It replaced St. John's church which was dedicated in 1813. Many of the stones from St. John's were used in the building of Holy Trinity. The registers start in 1612 and the list of Rectors in 1180 with Robert de Quitfield which confirms the existence of a church at that time.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections Reference number: DDR/EA/PBT/2/268 Date: June 1760-1876
Parish Register transcripts are available to search free online at FamilySearch Historical Records.
The dates of the post-1760 transcripts have been noted in detail and sometimes only cover years. For most parishes in the collection there are gaps in the sequence of transcripts. It is advisable to consult the original parish registers for these years and events.
Whitfield, St John/Holy Trinity: Records of baptisms 1611-1959, marriages 1605-1980 and burials 1611-1959, 1981 are available at Northumberland Collections Service. The International Genealogical Index (I.G.I.) includes baptisms 1612-1875 (with gaps) and marriages 1606-1877 for this parish, and Boyd's Marriage Index includes marriages 1606-1812 and banns 1754-1812. Transcripts of baptisms 1611-1812, marriages 160(?)-1812 and burials 1611-1812 are available in the Local Studies Departments of Newcastle Central Library and Gateshead Central Library. A transcript of monumental inscriptions at Whitfield (microfiche TN79) is published by Northumberland and Durham Family History Society and these records are also available in book form at Newcastle Central Library, Local Studies Department.
FamilySearch Historical Records includes England, Durham Diocese, Marriage Bonds and Allegations (FamilySearch Historical Records)
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438896.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Northumberland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- This page was last modified on 18 May 2015, at 15:59.
- This page has been accessed 1,922 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News