Whitley (near Hexham), NorthumberlandEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Northumberland Gotoarrow.png Northumberland Parishes

Guide to Whitley (near Hexham), Northumberland family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Whitley (near Hexham), Northumberland
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Tindale
County Northumberland
Poor Law Union Hexham PLU
Registration District Hexham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1764
Bishop's Transcripts: 1765
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Hexham
Diocese Durham
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of the Archbishop of York in Hexham and Hexhamshire
Location of Archive
Northumberland Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Whitley Chapel St Helen was created from a chapelry within Hexham, Northumberland Ancient Parish in 1763. It can be confused with Whitley near North Shields. There are two places of worship for Methodists. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records

Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections Whitley Chapel (Northumberland) Reference number: DDR/EA/PBT/2/269 Date: 1843-1888  Parish Register transcripts are available to search free online at FamilySearch Historical Records which has not yet loaded the images of the transcripts.

The dates of the post-1760 transcripts have been noted in detail and sometimes only cover years. For most parishes in the collection there are gaps in the sequence of transcripts. It is advisable to consult the original parish registers for these years and events.

Whitley Chapel, St Helen: Records of baptisms 1764-1995, marriages 1765-1989 and burials 1764-1994 are available at Northumberland Collections Service  The International Genealogical Index (I.G.I.) includes baptisms 1765-1842 and marriages 1765-1781 for this parish, but it is not included in Boyd's Marriage Index. Transcripts of baptisms 1764-1851, marriages 1765-1781, 1844-1851 and burials 1764-1851 are available at Newcastle Central Library, Local Studies Dept. A transcript of monumental inscriptions at Whitley Chapel (microfiche TN75) is published by Northumberland and Durham Family History Society and these records are also available in book form at Newcastle Central Library, Local Studies Department.

FamilySearch Historical Records includes England, Durham Diocese, Marriage Bonds and Allegations (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438895.

Poor Law Unions

Hexham Poor Law Union, Northumberland

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Northumberland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 17 December 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 28 May 2014, at 16:23.
  • This page has been accessed 925 times.