Whitley (near North Shields), NorthumberlandEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Northumberland Gotoarrow.png Northumberland Parishes

Guide to Whitley (near North Shields), Northumberland family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Whitley (near North Shields), Northumberland
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Castle
County Northumberland
Poor Law Union Tynemouth PLU
Registration District Tynemouth
Records begin
Parish registers: None; For records see Tynemouth
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Newcastle upon Tyne
Diocese Durham
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Northumberland Record Office

Contents

Parish History

WHITLEY, a township, in the parish and union of Tynemouth, E. division of Castle ward, S. division of Northumberland, 3 miles (N.) from North Shields. There are two places of worship for Methodists.[1]

Additional information:

Whitley was a chapelry in the Ancient Parish of Tynemouth, Northumberland St Paul's Whitley Bay was dedicated in 1864.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records

Whitley Bay, St Paul: Records of baptisms 1861-1975, marriages 1864-1989 and burials 1864-1962 are available at Northumberland Collections Service. Baptisms 1861-1952, marriages 1864-1969, banns 1948-1964, burials 1864-1926 and a transcript of monumental inscriptions can also be seen at Tyne and Wear Archives Service. A transcript of monumental inscriptions at Whitley Bay, St Paul (microfiche TN94) is published by Northumberland and Durham Family History Society. For earlier records see Tynemouth, Northumberland Parish Church.

FamilySearch Historical Records includes England, Durham Diocese, Marriage Bonds and Allegations (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438889.

Poor Law Unions

Tynemouth Poor Law Union,Northumberland

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Northumberland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 17 December 2013.
Add any relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 28 May 2014, at 16:23.
  • This page has been accessed 692 times.