Whitley County, IndianaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Indiana Gotoarrow.png Whitley County

Guide to Whitley County Indiana genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Indiana
Online Records
Whitley County, Indiana
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Indiana
Location of Indiana in the U.S.
Facts
Founded February, 1835
County Seat Columbia City
Courthouse
Address Whitley County Courthouse
101 W Van Buren Street
Columbia City, IN 46725
Phone: 219.248.3102
County Website
Adopt-a-wiki page
Indiana Genealogical Society.JPG This page adopted by:
Indiana Genealogical Society
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today

Contents

Historical Facts

Beginning dates for major county records
Birth
Marriage
Death
Land
Probate
——*
1838*
——*
1813
1839
*For earlier dates,

try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries



Neighboring Counties

Kosciusko  • Noble  • Allen  • Huntington  • Wabash


Allen CountyDeKalb CountyNoble CountyElkhart CountyKosciusko CountyFulton CountyAdams CountyWells CountyMiami CountyHuntington CountyWabash CountyGrant CountyWhitley CountyINWhitley.JPG


Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Indiana County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Indiana County Boundary Maps" (1790-1873) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Indiana Counties see: Indiana Counties with Burned Courthouses

Whitley County, Indiana Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Cemeteries

The Genealogy Center at Allen County Public Library (Indiana) has a number of on-line cemetery databases for Whitley County.

Albright Evangelical Church Cemetery
Bayless Cemetery
Boggs Cemetery
Burch-Ditton Cemetery
Broxson Cemetery BillionGraves, spelled 'Broxon'
Cleveland Cemetery
Coesse Lutheran Cemetery
Compton-Oak Grove Cemetery
Concord (Concordia) Cemetery
County Line Lutheran Cemetery
Eberhard Cemetery
Garrison Cemetery
Grumlich Cemetery
Hell's Half Acre Cemetery
Hopkins Cemetery
Jacob Hively Cemetery
Jeffries Cemetery
Kelsey Family Cemetery
Mitchell Cemetery
Nolt Cemetery
Otis Miner Cemetery
Ream-Bethel Cemetery
Rousseau-Pence Cemetery
St. John's Lutheran Church Cemetery
St. Peter Lutheran Church Cemetery
Samuel Leaman Cemetery
Samuel Miner Cemetery
Scott Cemetery
Scott Keister Cemetery
Shank Cemetery
South Park Cemetery
Stough Cemetery
Thompson Cemetery
Universalist Church Cemetery
Wigent-Taylor Cemetery

Other Cemetery Listings

Census Records

For tips on accessing Whitley County, Indiana census records online, see: Indiana Census.

Church Records

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository.

For more information about these major repositories, see Indiana Church Records.

Finding More Church Records

Additional church records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Whitley County, Indiana Church Records in online catalogs like:

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic and Religious Groups

Gazetteers

Genealogies

History

Local Histories

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

After land was transferred from the government to private ownership, subsequent transactions were recorded at the courthouse, where records are currently housed. See Indiana Land and Property for additional information about early Indiana land grants and patents.

Finding More Land Records

Additional land records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Whitley County, Indiana Probate Records in online catalogs like:

Maps

Migration

Military Records

War of 1812

  • Civil War

Civil War service men from Whitley County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Whitley County.

Civil War Books

World War I

World War II

Newspapers

Obituaries

Occupation

Periodicals

Probate Records

In most counties in Indiana, probate records have been kept by the county clerk of the circuit court. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

Finding More Probate Records

Additional probate records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Whitley County, Indiana Probate Records in online catalogs like:

Public Records

School Records
Voter Registration

Repositories

See also a List of Indiana Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Archives
County Courthouse

Whitley County Courthouse
101 W Van Buren Street
Columbia City, IN 46725
Phone: 219.248.3102

County Clerk has marriage records from 1836
divorce and court records from 1853 and probate records.
County Health Department has birth and death records from 1882.
County Recorder has land records. [3]

Family History Centers

For additional nearby Family History Centers, search online in the Family History Center directory.

Libraries
Museums
Societies

See Web Sites below, Genealogical Society of Whitley County


Taxation

Indiana tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties.

For more information see the wiki page Indiana Taxation.

Finding More Tax Records

Additional tax records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Whitley County, Indiana Tax Records in online catalogs like:

Vital Records

Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Indiana law in 1882 required registration of births and deaths in counties. The Indiana Department of Health has birth records filed after October 1907 and death records filed after January 1900 for deaths. Copies may be obtained from the county health department or the Indiana State Division of Vital Records. See also How to order Indiana Vital Records or order electronically online.

Marriage licenses were required by counties beginning in 1800. Original marriage records are held at the office of the Whitley County, Indiana County Clerk with divorce records located with the Whitley County, Indiana Clerk of Courts.

  • Indiana State Digital Archives for Death, E-Publication, Institution, Military, Misc Historical, Naturalization Records can be searched by person name (accessed 26 May 2011)
Birth Records
Marriage Records
Death Records

Finding Vital Records at Other Repositories

Additional vital records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Whitley County, Indiana Vital Records in online catalogs like:


Whitley County, Indiana Web Sites

Places

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Whitley County, Indiana" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Whitley_County,_Indiana (accessed 10 May 2012).
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Whitley County, Indiana 218 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 9 October 2014, at 17:10.
  • This page has been accessed 10,899 times.