Whitmore, StaffordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire Parishes

Guide to Whitmore, Staffordshire family history and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Whitmore, Staffordshire
Whitmore St Mary &All Saints Staffordshire.jpg
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred North Pirehill
County Staffordshire
Poor Law Union Newcastle under Lyme PLU
Registration District Newcastle under Lyme
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1674
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Trentham
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Staffordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

WHITMORE, a parish, in the union of Newcastle-under-Lyme, N. division of the hundred of Pirehill,and of the county of Stafford, 4 miles (S. W.) from Newcastle.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

See Staffordshire BMD

Church records

Whitmore St Mary & All Saints former chapelry in Stoke on Trent St Peter

Whitmore parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
FS = FamilySearch - free[3]
WHITMORE PARISH (1558) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1558-1812
1558-1753
1558-1811
FS 1674-1837
1680-1837

Deposited parish registers at Staffordshire Record Office Bap 1558-2001 Mar 1558-1995 Bur 1558-1992
Lichfield Record Office holdings of Bishop's Transcripts Bap 1674-1837 Mar 1674-1837 Bur 1674-1838 missing Bap/Mar/Bur 1836-1837


Census records


Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474622.

Poor Law Unions

Newcastle under Lyme Poor Law Union, Staffordshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Staffordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/STS/Whitmore/index.html

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 555-557. Date accessed: 06 November 2012.
  2. 'Staffordshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 16 September 2013.
  3. 'IGI Batch Numbers for Stafford (N-Z), England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 23 September 2013.
  4. Ann J. Kettle, A List of Families in the Archdeaconry of Stafford, 1532-3 (Stafford: Staffordshire Record Society, 1976). FHL British Book 942.46 B4sc ser. 4 v. 8
Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 26 August 2014, at 15:21.
  • This page has been accessed 1,376 times.