Whitney, HerefordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Herefordshire Gotoarrow.png Herefordshire Parishes

Guide to Whitney, Herefordshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Whitney, Herefordshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Huntington
County Herefordshire
Poor Law Union Hay PLU
Registration District Hay
Records begin
Parish registers: 1740
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Weobley
Diocese Hereford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Hereford (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Herefordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History =

WHITNEY (St. Peter and St. Paul), a parish, in the union of Hay, hundred of Huntington, county of Hereford, 4 miles (N. E.) from Hay. It is situated on the river Wye. A considerable traffic in bark and timber is carried on by the Wye, which is navigable; and the road from Brecknock to Hereford passes through the parish. The church was erected in 1740.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288817.

See Herefordshire Census

Poor Law Unions

See Breconshire Poor Law Unions Hay Poor Law Union

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Herefordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/HEF/Whitney/index.html

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 555-557. Accessed and adapted 10 July, 2013.

Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 9 September 2014, at 16:23.
  • This page has been accessed 466 times.