Whitsbury, WiltshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Wiltshire/HampshireGotoarrow.png Wiltshire Parishes Gotoarrow.png Hampshire Parishes

Guide to Whitsbury, Wiltshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


Whitsbury, Wiltshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Cawden and Cadworth
County Wiltshire
Poor Law Union Fordingbridge PLU
Registration District Fordingbridge
Records begin
Parish registers: 1714
Bishop's Transcripts: 1780
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Fordingbridge
Diocese Winchester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and Archdeaconry of Winchester
Location of Archive
Wiltshire Record Office

Guide to Whitsbury, Wiltshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Contents

Parish History

WHITSBURY, or Whitchbury (St. Leonard), a parish, in the union of Fordingbridge, hundred of Cawden and Cadworth, Salisbury and Amesbury, and S. divisions of Wiltshire, 3½ miles (N. by W.) from Fordingbridge. It is situated on the highest land between Hants and Wiltshire.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Whitsbury, Wiltshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[2]
FS = FamilySearch - free[3]
NIM = Nimrod Research - (£). Results delivered by email.[4]
PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[5]
WHITSBURY PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1700s-1800s
1700s-1800s
1500s-1800s
FS
1714-1749, 1780-1846

NIM
1714-1837

PRTS 1780-1812
1780-1812
1780-1812

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464193.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Wiltshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 555-557. Date accessed: 4 April 2013.
  2. 'Over 1.4 million new Hampshire parish records published', Find My Past, accessed 3 October 2013. Date ranges are not clearly identified.
  3. 'IGI Batch Numbers for Hampshire, England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 5 October 2013.
  4. 'Wiltshire Parish Explorer,' Nimrod Research, accessed 8 January 2014.
  5. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 2 October 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:37.
  • This page has been accessed 1,445 times.