Whittingham, NorthumberlandEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Northumberland Gotoarrow.png Northumberland Parishes

Guide to Whittingham, Northumberland family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Whittingham, Northumberland
Whittingham St Bartholomew Northumberland.jpg
Whittingham St Bartholomew Northumberland
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Coquetdale
County Northumberland
Poor Law Union Rothbury PLU
Registration District Alnwick; Rothbury
Records begin
Parish registers: 1658
Bishop's Transcripts: 1760
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Rothbury
Diocese Durham
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Northumberland Record Office

Contents

Parish History

WHITTINGHAM (St. Bartholomew), a parish, in the union of Rothbury, N. division of Coquetdale ward and of the county of Northumberland with the townships of Callaley with Yetlington, Glanton, Lorbottle, Great Ryle, Little Ryle, and Shawdon. A Roman Catholic chapel is maintained by the ancient family of Clavering, and there is a place of worship for Presbyterians.[1]

Additional information:

Whittingham St Bartholomew is an ancient parish. Other places in the parish include: Callaley, Callaley and Yetlington, Callaly and Yetlington, Eslington, Glanton, Barton, Little Ryle, Lorbottle, Shawdon, Shawdon and Woodhouse, Thrunton, and Great Ryle.

An old stone cross which stands near the eastern gate of the churchyard may be evidence of early Christian worship on the site long before the building of any church. In 684 A.D. a religious assembly took place here for the election of Cuthbert of Lindisfarne to be bishop, perhaps in a church of wood and wattles. There is a record of the consecration of a church at Whittingham in 735 A.D. This is assumed to be a stone building. The earliest existing stonework dates from about 900 A.D. and is most clearly seen in the lower half of the tower.

In the early medieval period there was probably a settlement in Whittingham as the remains of an Anglo-Saxon church can be seen be seen in the fabric of the Church of Saint Bartholomew. Although much of the early church was destroyed in the 19th century, some early quoins in the tower, nave and aisles can be seen. The place-name ‘Whittingham’ itself has the elements –ham and –ing, which are thought to indicate early Anglian settlements.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records

Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections Reference number: DDR/EA/PBT/2/270 Date: 1760-1879
Parish Register transcripts are available to search free online at FamilySearch Historical Records.

The dates of the post-1760 transcripts have been noted in detail and sometimes only cover years. For most parishes in the collection there are gaps in the sequence of transcripts. It is advisable to consult the original parish registers for these years and events.

Whittingham, St Bartholomew: Records of baptisms 1662-1976, marriages 1659-1991 and burials 1658-1960 are available at Northumberland Collections Service.  The International Genealogical Index (I.G.I.) includes baptisms 1661-1875 and marriages 1659-1812 for this parish, but it is not included in Boyd's Marriage Index. A transcript of monumental inscriptions at Whittingham (microfiche TN71) is published by Northumberland and Durham Family History Society and these records are also available in book form at Newcastle Central Library, Local Studies Department.

Nonconformist Records

  • Callaly Castle (Roman Catholic): Records of baptisms 1796-1839, 1841-1876, marriages 1801-1840 and deaths 1797-1881 are available at Northumberland Collections Service. The International Genealogical Index (I.G.I.) includes births/baptisms 1796-1839. Transcripts of baptisms 1796-1839, marriages 1801-1840 and deaths 1797-1881 are available at Newcastle Central Library, Local Studies Dept.
  • Whittingham (Roman Catholic): Records of baptisms 1881-1940 and deaths 1881-1962 are available at Northumberland Collections Service.
  •  Glanton (Presbyterian): Records of births/baptisms 1784-1836 are available at Northumberland Collections Service. The International Genealogical Index (I.G.I.) includes births/baptisms 1784-1837. Transcripts of baptisms 1784-1837 are available at Newcastle Central Library, Local Studies Dept.

FamilySearch Historical Records includes England, Durham Diocese, Marriage Bonds and Allegations (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438892.

Poor Law Unions

Rothbury Poor Law Union, Northumberland

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Northumberland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England,(1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 13 August 2013.
Add any relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 28 May 2014, at 16:03.
  • This page has been accessed 954 times.