Whittington, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England go to Lancashire go to Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Whittington, Lancashire family history and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Whittington, Lancashire
St Michael's Church, Whittington.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Lonsdale
County Lancashire
Poor Law Union Lunesdale PLU
Registration District Lancaster
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538
Bishop's Transcripts: 1765
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Tunstall
Diocese Manchester
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Commissary of the Archdeaconry of Richmond Western Deaneries - Lonsdale
Location of Archive
Lancashire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

WHITTINGTON, a parish, in the union of Lancaster, hundred of Lonsdale south of the Sands, N. division of Lancashire, 2 miles southwest by south of Kirkby Lonsdale. Other places in the parish include: Newton with Docker and Docker. Whittington was one of the few ancient parishes in Lancashire with no known chapelries attached to it.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD

Lancashire Online Parish Clerks

This outstanding web site with its team of volunteers has transcribed many years of the parish registers for christenings, marriages and burials and posted them at no cost. Try this extremely useful resource for research in Lancashire Parishes and their chapelries at http://www.lan-opc.org.uk/.

Church records

Online Records

Whittington St Michael the Archangel parish registers and those registers of all of its smaller chapelries lying within its boundaries have been mostly transcribed and are displayed online at the following web sites and ranges of years:

AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£)
FMP = FindMyPast.co.uk (£)
FREG = FreeReg
FS = FamilySearch.org
JOIN = Joiner's Marriage Index (£)
LBMD = LancashireBMD.org.uk
LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk
WHITTINGTON ST MICHAEL THE ARCHANGEL PARISH (1538) Indexes

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1538-1876
1559-1841
1750-1876
LOPC 1664-1749, 1813-1914
1664-1749, 1813-1914
1664-1749, 1813-1914
LBMD None
1838-2002
None
FMP None
1558-1837
None
AC 1538-1764
1538-1764
1538-1764
JOIN 1813-1837


Whittington-in-Lonsdale- St Michael the Archangel
Baptisms Transcript-1538-1764- 929.3272 W1
Burials Transcript-1564-1764- 929.3272 W1
Marriages Transcript-1558-1764- 929.3272 W1

Original Records

The Lancashire Record Office at Bow Lane, Preston PR2 1RE, holds the original parish registers in its vast collections. Contact their website for contact information.

The Family History Library has microfilmed the parish registers and Bishop's transcripts of Whittington parish for the years 1538-1920. These films are available for ordering/circulating and researching at any one of its satellite FamilySearch Centers worldwide.

The Manchester Room and Greater Manchester County Record Office
Email: archiveslocalstudies@manchester.gov.uk

The Manchester Room@City Library (Local Studies)


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306916.


Poor Law Unions

Lunesdale Poor Law Union,Lancashire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Taxation

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 557-560. Adapted. Date accessed: 08 October 2013 .

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 27 June 2014, at 15:10.
  • This page has been accessed 2,361 times.