Whittington, ShropshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png ShropshireGotoarrow.png Shropshire Parishes

Guide to Whittington, Shropshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Whittington, Shropshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Oswestry
County Shropshire
Poor Law Union Oswestry PLU
Registration District Oswestry
Records begin
Parish registers: 1591; Separate registers exist for Halston beginning 1686
Bishop's Transcripts: 1682
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Montgomery
Diocese St Asaph
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of St Asaph (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Shropshire Record Office

Contents

History

In 1848 - WHITTINGTON (St. John the Baptist),a parish, in the hundred of Oswestry, N. division of Shropshire, 3 miles (E. N. E.) from Oswestry. There is a chapel at Frankton, about three miles from the village; and the Brownists and Bryanites have places of worship. [1]

The parish of Whittington originally formed part of the Welsh Diocese of St Asaph. However, following the disestablishment of the Anglican church in Wales in 1920, the parish was transferred to the English Diocese of Lichfield.

Halston, formerly extra-parochial, now lies within Whittington Parish.

Census Records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474587.

The parish of Whittington formed part of the Oswestry Registrar's District.


Church Records

The following records of Whittington are available on the IGI:

Type Years Batch Number
Baptisms 1591-1812 P018211
Baptisms 1813-1840 C018212
Marriages 1591-1812 M018211
Marriages 1813-1837 M018212
Mixed 1591-1812 P018211
Mixed   E018211

Whittington parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)
FMP = Shropshire Records (findmypast) - (£)[2][3][4]
IARC = Internet Archive - free
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[5]
MLOC = Mel Lockie website - free
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[6]
WHITTINGTON PARISH (1591) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1585-1812

FMP Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined
IARC 1591-1812
1591-1812
1591-1812
JOIN
1591-1812

MLOC 1591-1812
1591-1812
1591-1812
PALL
1790-1810s

Bishop's transcripts held at Lichfield Record Office Bap 1662-1840 Marr 1662-1837 Bur 1662-1840

Halston chapelry registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

HALSTON CHAPELRY (1686) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1699-1826

IARC 1686-1812
1686-1812
1686-1812
IGI 1686-1849
JOIN
1699-1826

MLOC 1686-1812
1686-1812
1686-1812
PALL
1790-1812

Nonconformist Church Records

 

Civil Records

The parish of Whittington formed a sub-district of the Oswestry Registration District and any entries for births, marriages or deaths from 1837 in Whittington will appear as Oswestry in the GRO Indexes.
Oswestry: XVIII (1837-1851); 6a (1852-1946); 9A (1946-1974).

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/SAL/Whittington/index.html

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 557-560. Date accessed: 11 June 2012.
  2. 'Shropshire Baptisms 1538-1900,' findmypast, accessed 28 April 2014.
  3. 'Shropshire Marriages 1538-1900,' findmypast, accessed 28 April 2014.
  4. 'Shropshire Burials 1538-1900,' findmypast, accessed 28 April 2014.
  5. 'Shropshire Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 9 September 2013.
  6. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 22:02.
  • This page has been accessed 1,322 times.