Whittle le Woods, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England go to Lancashire go to Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Whittle le Woods, Lancashire family history and genealogy: chapelry register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Whittle le Woods, Lancashire
Whittle le Woods St John contributor Alexander P Kapp.jpg
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Leyland
County Lancashire
Poor Law Union Chorley PLU
Registration District Chorley
Records begin
Parish registers: 1830
Bishop's Transcripts: 1830
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Leyland
Diocese Manchester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Chester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lancashire Record Office

Contents

Chapelry History

WHITTLE-LE-WOODS, a township, in the parish and hundred of Leyland, union of Chorley, N. division of the county of Lancaster, 2 miles (N.) from Chorley, on the road to Preston. [1]

The name of this village comes from 'a white hill' with the 'le-woods' part added at a later date with a subsequent meaning 'A white hill in the woods'. The Preston England Temple is the of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints and is situated in the parish. Fittingly it stands high above the surrounding area and is visible for several miles on nearby motorways.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD

Lancashire Online Parish Clerks

An extremely useful resource for research in Lancashire Parishes http://www.lan-opc.org.uk/

Church records

Online Records

Church of England

Whittle le Woods chapelry's registers of christenings, marriages and burials, along with those of the ancient parish of Leyland to which it is attached, have been mostly transcribed and are displayed online at the following web sites and ranges of years:

AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£)
FMP = FindMyPast.co.uk (£)
FREG = FreeReg
FS = FamilySearch.org
LBMD = LancashireBMD.org.uk
LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk


WHITTLE-LE-WOODS Chapelry (1837) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1843-1858 None None
LOPC 1843-1858 None 1837-1858
AC None  None None
LEYLAND ST ANDREW'S PARISH (1622) Indexes (ancient parish containing WHITTLE-LE-WOODS Chapelry)
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1622-1900 1622-1900 1814-1852
LOPC 1711-1899 1711-1837  1711-1903
FMP  None None None
LBMD None None None 
AC 1653-1710 1653-1710 1653-1710


For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Whittle le Woods and comprising the whole ancient parish of Leyland to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the LEYLAND ST ANDREW PARISH page.

Catholic

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306912.


Poor Law Unions

Chorley Poor Law Union, Lancashire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Taxation

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 557-560. Date accessed: 08 October 2013.
  2. 2.0 2.1 J.P. Earwaker, Three Lancashire Subsidy Rolls, viz., for the Hundred of Salford, 1541, the Hundred of Salford, 1622 and the Hundred of Leyland, 1628, Together with a Recusant Roll for the Hundred of Leyland, in 1628 (London: Record Society of Lancashire and Cheshire, 1885). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online - free.
 

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 27 June 2014, at 15:10.
  • This page has been accessed 2,871 times.