Wick and Abson, GloucestershireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Gloucestershire Gotoarrow.png  Gloucestershire Parishes

Guide to Wick and Abson, Gloucestershire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Wick and Abson, Gloucestershire
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Puckle-Church
County Gloucestershire
Poor Law Union Chipping Sodbury PLU
Registration District Chipping Sodbury
Records begin
Parish registers: 1880; Separate registers exist for Abson beginning 1687; For more records see Pucklechurch
Bishop's Transcripts: 1600; Separate records exist for Abson beginning 1600
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Hawkesbury
Diocese Gloucester and Bristol
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Gloucester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Gloucestershire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

WICK and ABSON (St. James), a parish, in the union of Chipping-Sodbury, hundred of PuckleChurch, W. division of the county of Gloucester, 7¼miles (E. by N.) from Bristol.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Wick and Abson, Gloucestershire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
ABSON PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1600-1812 1617-1812

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288775.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Gloucestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 564-565. Date accessed: 18 March 2013.
  2. 'Vital Records Index - British Isles - Collection List,' British Isles Vital Records Index, 2nd ed., hosted at Genoot, accessed 1 December 2012.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 16 May 2014, at 21:29.
  • This page has been accessed 1,675 times.