Wickham Market, Suffolk GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
|Wickham Market, Suffolk|
|Poor Law Union||Plomesgate PLU|
|Parish registers: 1557|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1698|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Suffolk|
|Location of Archive|
|Suffolk Record Office|
WICKHAM-MARKET (All Saints), a parish, in the union of Plomesgate, hundred of Wilford, E. division of Suffolk, 12½ miles (N. E.) from Ipswich. Here is a place of worship for Independents. 
If you live in Suffolk you will have access to a variety of resources at local archives and libraries. For those who live further afield, one can access microfilm and online records at LDS Family History Centres. Refer to Wickham Market and Suffolk in the FamilySearch Catalogue for available records.
Wickham Market was in Plomesgate district. To search an index of Plomesgate district records go to FreeBMD. The Suffolk Civil Registration article provides more details about these records. Civil Registration began in 1837.
Wickham Market, Suffolk Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|1813 = Suffolk Marriage Index (1813-37) (findmypast) - (£)|
|BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)|
|IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free|
|NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)|
|Wickham Market, Suffolk Genealogy Online Parish Records|
| This section requires expansion with:
Information about parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts, parish chest records, non conformist and other types of church records. Also add links to online parish collections. Make reference to records found in the FamilySearch Catalog. To locate resources, look at Suffolk Parishes in the FamilySearch Catalogue.
There are census records available for Wickham Market from 1841 to 1911. Census records are available on a variety of subscription and other websites. If you need to consult the 1841 to 1891 census on microfilm, refer to Wickham Market Censusin the catalogue.
There is statistical data available for the census years 1801 to 1931 that records the number of houses, families, people, and other statistical data for every parish in Suffolk.
Refer to the Suffolk Census wiki article for details about the Census.
Knight, Gordon: The Beail Family. History and family tree of Benjamin Beail and Harriet surname unknown, dating from 1831-1956, family is listed in the following places. Essex, Colchester, Leicestershire, Thurmaston, Sfk, Felixstowe, Milfield, Walton, and Wickham Market. In the family tree other names listed are Larkin, Smith, Davis, Durrant, Keeble and Brett. Article in Roots and Branches, Journal of the Felixstowe Family History Soc. vol. 7, no.3. pages 12-15, FHL 942.64/F5 D25r
Wilby, Robert. Five Generations. History, four generations photo, dating 1738-1992, and family tree of John Motum and wife Rebecca Smith with the following surnames. - Banham, Bennett, Friend, Smith, Dyke, Gowler, Greggm Richardson, Larter, Wilby. Article in Journal of the Felixstowe Family History Soc. vol. 8, no.3, pages 10-12. FHL 942.64/F5 D25r
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Suffolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- ↑ Lewis,Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 565-567. Date accessed: 09 October 2013.
- ↑ 'Suffolk Marriage Index (1813-37) Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 9 December 2013.
- ↑ Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
- ↑ Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Suffolk, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 10 December 2013.
- ↑ 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 4 December 2013.
- This page was last modified on 24 May 2015, at 02:01.
- This page has been accessed 1,431 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News