Wickmere with Wolterton, NorfolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

EnglandGotoarrow.png  Norfolk Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Parishes

Guide to Wickmere with Wolterton, Norfolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Wickmere with Wolterton, Norfolk
Wickmere St Andrew.jpg
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred South Erpingham
County Norfolk
Poor Law Union Aylsham PLU
Registration District Aylsham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1559; Separate records exist for Wolterton beginning 1560
Bishop's Transcripts: 1691; Separate records exist for Wolterton beginning 1600
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Ingworth
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Norwich
Location of Archive
Norfolk Record Office

Contents

Parish History

WICKMERE, a parish, in the union of Aylsham, hundred of South Erpingham, E. division of Norfolk, 5 miles (N. N. W.) from Aylsham. [1]

Wickmere St Andrew is the Ancient parish in the diocese of Norwich serving Wickmere and Wolteron.

A medieval round tower church is mainly constructed from carstone and has a Saxon-Norman round tower and west wall. The rest of the church dates from the 14th century. The windows in the aisle and chancel are decorated with tracery and are in the perpendicular style. the nave roof is a king post construction, whilst the chancel roof is of King post design. Inside the church some of the benches date from medieval period, there is a 15th century screen which has been restored but still retains four original panels with paintings of the Saint, although only Saint Andrew with his cross can be recognised. There are several notable memorials in the church , in particular, the tomb of the fifth earl of Orford, Baron Robert Horace Walpole.

Wickmere gets its name from the old English meaning Lake by a dairy farm. The village is made up of a few cottages built to provide accommodation for the workers on the near-by Wolterton Estate, which was once the family seat of the younger brother of the Prime Minister, Robert Walpole. The parish has a long history that pre-dates the Norman Conquest.

Wickmere is a village and a civil parish in the English county of Norfolk [1]. The village is 18.9 miles (30.4 km) North of Norwich, 7.3 miles (11.7 km) south-south-west of Cromer and 18.9 miles (30.4 km) north-east of London. For the purposes of local government, the parish falls within the district of North Norfolk.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

  • Aylsham 1837-1938
  • Norwich Outer 1939-1974
  • Norwich

Church records

Wickmere with Wolterton, Norfolk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
FS ATs = England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812 (FamilySearch) - free[3]
FS BTs = England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941 (FamilySearch) - free[4]
Wickmere with Wolterton, Norfolk Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1559-1812
1559-1812
1559-1812
FS ATs 1600-1812 1600-1812 1600-1812
FS BTs Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined

Norfolk Record Office reference PD 112

This parish does not appear at FamilySearch Historical Records as no microfilm for the parish is held
A search of the FamilySearch Catalogue identifies the following Archdeacon's transcripts:

Content
Film
Baptisms and burials 1600-1610, 1623-1634, 1665-1812 Marriages 1600-1610, 1623-1630 1670-1811
FHL BRITISH Film
1526781 Item 5

Wolterton parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Wolterton Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1600-1764
1600-1763
1600-1747

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438854.


http://www.btinternet.com/~e.c.apling/1891Census/Wickmere.htm

http://www.btinternet.com/~e.c.apling/1891Census/CalthorpeAndWolterton.htm transcript of 1891 census

Poor Law Unions

Aylsham Poor Law Union

Norfolk Poor Law Unions


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 565-567. Date accessed: 06 August 2013.
  2. 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 27 February 2014.
  3. 'England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812,' FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  4. 'England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941', FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 November 2014, at 06:26.
  • This page has been accessed 1,625 times.