Widley, HampshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Hampshire Gotoarrow.png Hampshire Parishes Gotoarrow.png Widley

Guide to Widley, Hampshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Widley, Hampshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Portsdown
County Hampshire
Poor Law Union Fareham PLU
Registration District Fareham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1738
Bishop's Transcripts: 1780
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Droxford
Diocese Winchester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and Archdeaconry of Winchester
Location of Archive
Hampshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

WIDLEY (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Fareham, hundred of Portsdown, Fareham and S. divisions of the county of Southampton, 5½ miles (E. by N.) from Fareham; containing, with part of the hamlet of Potwell. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Widley, Hampshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[2]
FS = FamilySearch - free[3]
PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[4]
WIDLEY PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1700s-1800s
1700s-1800s
1500s-1800s
FS 1738-1876
1738-1751, 1754-1877

PRTS 1780-1812
1780-1812
1780-1812


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288795.

Occupations

Clarke, Barry.  Clarke Family at Cosham's King and Queen.  A history of the Clarke family working at the Cosham King and Queen, which is party of the Widley parish.  The history of the family starts in 1779, with James Clarke birth, and his marriage to Elizabeth Cole who was born in about 1794.  Article has picture of the Inn, and history of the family with other surnames mentioned, Tribe, Stevens, Windbank, Shank, Irish Till, Samways, Longs.  Latest date is 1953. Article in the Hampshire Family Historian vol. 32 part 1, pages 33-35, FHL Ref 942.27 B2h

Dowling, Ronald.  Survivor of Rorke's Drift; Resident of Cosham - Henry Edward Gallagher.  History of his military service with pictures of him and his wife Caroline Maria Gallager nee Stanley, with a history of the family, in India, and Egypt, and England.  He was born at Killenaule, Co. Tipperary, Eire, in 1855, his parents being Henry Gallagher and Mary Kennedy.Article extends from 1820-1937.  Article in the Hampshire Family Historian, vol. 31, part 3, pages 227-231, FHL Ref 942.27 B2h

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Hampshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 568-571. Date accessed: 01 June 2013.
  2. 'Over 1.4 million new Hampshire parish records published', Find My Past, accessed 3 October 2013. Date ranges are not clearly identified.
  3. 'IGI Batch Numbers for Hampshire, England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 5 October 2013.
  4. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 2 October 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:25.
  • This page has been accessed 870 times.