Widmerpool, NottinghamshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Gotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Parishes

Contents

Parish History

Widmerpool, Nottinghamshire
Widmerpool St+Peter Nottinghamshire.JPG
Widmerpool St+Peter Nottinghamshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Rushcliffe
County Nottinghamshire
Poor Law Union Bingham PLU
Registration District Bingham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1539
Bishop's Transcripts: 1604
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bingham
Diocese Lincoln
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Nottinghamshire Record Office

WIDMER-POOL (St. Peter), a parish, in the union of Bingham, S. division of the wapentake of Rushcliffe and of the county of Nottingham, 9 miles (S. S. E.) from Nottingham. There is a place of worship for Baptists. [1]

Additional information:

Widmerpool St Peter and St Paul is an Ancient Parish.

The Parish Church of St Peter and St Paul has been designated a grade II* listed building by English Heritage British listed building

See also Widmerpool Wikipedia

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Widmerpool, Nottinghamshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
WIDMERPOOL PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PALL
1682-1812

Deposited records at Nottinghamshire Archives Widmerpool St Peter Baptisms 1539-2006 Marriages 1540-2005 Burials 1539-2006 Bishop's Transcripts 1604-1864
Nottinghamshire County Council
County Hall
West Bridgford
Nottingham
NG2 7QP telephone: 08449 808080 online

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Widmerpool

Widmerpool - St Peter.  A transcription of memorial inscriptions in the Churchyard, dating from 1751, giving surname, given name, date of death and age.  Article in Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol 63, pages 37-38, FHL Ref, 942.52 D25n

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438908.

See Nottinghamshire Census

Poor Law Unions

Bingham Poor Law Union, Nottinghamshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 10 December 2013.
  2. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 22 August 2014, at 00:34.
  • This page has been accessed 1,044 times.