Wigan All Saints, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England go to Lancashire go to Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Wigan All Saints, Lancashire family history and genealogy: chapelry register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records. See a List of Wigan Chapelries.

Wigan All Saints, Lancashire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred West Derby
County Lancashire
Poor Law Union Wigan PLU
Registration District Wigan
Records begin
Parish registers: 1580; Separate registers exist for Abram beginning 1838
Bishop's Transcripts: 1600
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Wigan
Diocese Chester
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Chester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lancashire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

WIGAN (All Saints),a parish, borough, and market town, which has separate jurisdiction, and the head of a union, chiefly in the hundred of West Derby, S. division of the county of Lancaster; containing, with the chapelries of Abram, Billinge, Haigh, Hindley, Pemberton, and Up Holland, and the townships of Aspull, Billinge Higher End, Dalton, Ince-in-Makerfield, Orrell, 18 miles west by northwest of Manchester. Wigan (St George's) church, in the town, was erected as a chapel of ease, in 1781. St. Catherine's church, at Scholes, of which the first stone was laid on the 6th April 1840. Both these churches have districts assigned to them. Wigan St Thomas's church, in the Queen-street, was erected in 1848. At Abram, Billinge, Haigh, Hindley, Holland, and Pemberton are also other chapels of the Church of the Church of England. In the town are places of worship for Baptists and Independents, a handsome meeting-house for Wesleyans, and a Scottish church. The Roman Catholics have two chapels; St Mary's, and St John's, built in 1819. In Scholes is St Patrick's Roman Catholic chapel.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Records

Wigan All Saints parish registers and those registers of all of its smaller chapelries lying within its boundaries have been mostly transcribed and are displayed online at the following web sites and ranges of years:

AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£)
FMP = FindMyPast.co.uk (£)
FREG = FreeReg
FS = FamilySearch.org
LBMD = LancashireBMD.org.uk
LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk

The ancient parish of Wigan All Saints has numerous additional chapelries including Abram subdividing its boundaries, which see.

WIGAN ALL SAINTS PARISH (1578) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1578-1926 1594-1880 1749-1952
LOPC 1813-1842, 1844, 1861-1869, 1879-1896 1594-1625, 1754-1898 1754-1904
LBMD 1837-1950 1837-1950 1837-1951
FMP None 1594-1837 None
AC 1580-1625
1580-1625
1580-1625
FREG 1580-1588, 1590-1625 1594-1625 1584-1597, 1600-1626
WIGAN ST ANDREW Chapelry (1871) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1871-1901 1883-1917 None
LOPC None None None
LBMD None 1883-1950 None
WIGAN ST GEORGE Chapelry  (1854) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS None 1861-1885 None
LOPC None 1854-1885 None
LBMD None 1854-1950 None
WIGAN ST CATHERINE Chapelry  (1841) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1841-1893 1862-1869 None
LOPC 1841-1860, 1878-1893 1854-1956 1841-1908
LBMD None 1841-1950 None
WIGAN ST GEORGE Chapelry  (1854) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS None 1861-1885 None
LOPC None 1854-1885 None
LBMD None 1854-1950 None
WIGAN ST MICHAEL ALL ANGEL Chapelry  (1878) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS None None
LOPC 1878-1946  1881-1921 None
LBMD None 1878-1950 None
WIGAN ST THOMAS Chapelry  (1852) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS None
LOPC
LBMD None 1852-1950 None
ABRAM ST JOHN Chapelry  (1838) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1838-1901 1856-1901 1839-1901
LOPC 1838-1911 1854-1911 1839-1911
LBMD None 1854-1950 None
BILLINGE ST AIDAN Chapelry  (1696) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1696-1857 1762-1857 None
LOPC 1696-1899 1699-1709, 1722-1922 1699-1714, 1721-1872, 1899-1936
LBMD 1904-1918 None 1904-1918
AC 1696-1812 1696-1812 1696-1812
HAIGH ST DAVID Chapelry  (1833) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS None None None
LOPC 1833-1912 1834-1936 1834-1915
LBMD None 1837-1951 None
HINDLEY ALL SAINTS Chapelry  (1698) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1698-1879 1698-1881 None
LOPC 1698-1915 1698-1946 1698-1948
LBMD 1837-1950 1837-1950 1837-1951
PEMBERTON ST JOHN THE DIVINE Chapelry  (1832) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1838-1901 1835-1900 1855-1901
LOPC 1832-1901 1835-1900 1832-1901
LBMD 1837-1921 1837-1950 1837-1922
POOLSTOCK ST JAMES Chapelry (1863) Indexes
FS None None None
LOPC 1864-1945 1866-1949
LBMD
SCHOLES ST CATHERINE Chapelry  (1841) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS None 1861-1885 None
LOPC 1841-1893 1841-1889 1854-1916
LBMD None None None
UPHOLLAND ST THOMAS Chapelry  (1600) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1604-1900 1600-1896 None
LOPC None None None
LBMD 1837-1904 1837-1950 1837-1904


Original Records

The Lancashire Record Office at Bow Lane, Preston PR2 1RE, holds the original parish registers in its vast collections. Contact their website for contact information.

The Family History Library has microfilmed the parish registers and Bishop's transcripts of Wigan parish for the years 1578-1900. These films are available for ordering/circulating and researching at any one of its satellite FamilySearch Centers worldwide.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306909.

Genealogy

In Search of James Bethell. History and family tree of Thomas Bethell (Bithill) and Mary Sumner, dating from 1758-1878, to be found in The Lancashire Family History And Heraldry Society magazine. vol.13 no. 4, pages 31-36, FHL Ref. 942.72 B2r

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Taxation

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 568-571. Adapted. Date accessed: 08 October 2013.
  2. 2.0 2.1 J.P. Earwaker, Three Lancashire Subsidy Rolls, viz., for the Hundred of Salford, 1541, the Hundred of Salford, 1622 and the Hundred of Leyland, 1628, Together with a Recusant Roll for the Hundred of Leyland, in 1628 (London: Record Society of Lancashire and Cheshire, 1885). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online - free.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 14 July 2014, at 20:42.
  • This page has been accessed 5,470 times.