Wigan St Catherine, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Wigan St Catherine, Lancashire family history and genealogy: chapel register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Wigan St Catherine, Lancashire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred West Derby
County Lancashire
Poor Law Union Wigan PLU
Registration District Wigan
Records begin
Parish registers: None; Separate registers exist for Ince-in-Makerfield beginning 1687
Bishop's Transcripts: 1841
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Wigan
Diocese Chester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Chester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lancashire Record Office

Contents

Chapelry History

St Catherine Wigan, was a created a chapel of ease in the year 1841 and lay within the civil parish boundaries of All Saints Wigan.

WIGAN, a parish, borough, and market town, which has separate jurisdiction, and the head of a union, chiefly in the hundred of West Derby, S. division of the county of Lancaster;containing, with the chapelries of Abram, Billinge, Haigh,Hindley, Pemberton, and Up Holland, and the townships of Aspull, Billinge HigherEnd, Dalton, Ince-in-Makerfield,and Orrell. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Records

Church of England

Wigan St Catherine chapelry's registers of christenings, marriages and burials, along with those of the ancient parish of Wigan All Saints to which it is attached, have been mostly transcribed and are displayed online at the following web sites and ranges of years:

AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£)
FMP = FindMyPast.co.uk (£)
FREG = FreeReg
FS = FamilySearch.org
LBMD = LancashireBMD.org.uk
LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk


WIGAN ST CATHERINE Chapelry  (1841) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1841-1893 1862-1869 None
LOPC 1841-1860, 1878-1893 1854-1956 1841-1908
LBMD None 1841-1950 None
WIGAN ALL SAINTS PARISH (1578) Indexes (ancient parish containing WIGAN ST CATHERINE Chapelry)
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1578-1926 1594-1880 1749-1952
LOPC 1813-1842, 1844, 1861-1869, 1879-1896 1594-1625, 1754-1898 1754-1904
LBMD 1837-1950 1837-1950 1837-1951
FMP None 1594-1837 None
AC 1580-1625
1580-1625
1580-1625
FREG 1580-1588, 1590-1625 1594-1625 1584-1597, 1600-1626


For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Wigan St Catherine and comprising the whole ancient parish of Wigan All Saints to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the WIGAN ALL SAINTS PARISH page.


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306909.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 568-571. Date accessed: 08 October 2013.

Websites


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 27 June 2014, at 15:10.
  • This page has been accessed 1,776 times.