Wigmore, Herefordshire GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Wigmore, Herefordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Ludlow PLU|
|Parish registers: 1572|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1660|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Hereford (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Herefordshire Record Office|
WIGMORE (St. James), a parish, in the union of Ludlow, hundred of Wigmore, county of Hereford, 8 miles (S. W.) from Ludlow. On a commanding elevation, a little westward of the village, are the ivy-mantled ruins of Wigmore Castle, the outer works of which are the most perfect. In the neighbourhood are traces of several British encampments, attributed to Caractacus; and some Roman encampments.
| This section requires expansion with:
a summary overview of the history of this parish.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288821.
FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through the FHC Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Herefordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- ↑ Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 571-575. Accessed and adapted 10 July, 2013.
Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.
- This page was last modified on 11 June 2015, at 17:56.
- This page has been accessed 1,048 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News