Wilcox County, Alabama GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Wilcox County, Alabama)

United States  Gotoarrow.png  Alabama  Gotoarrow.png  Wilcox County

Guide to Wilcox County, Alabama ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Dates for major county records[1]
For earlier dates, try...Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries | Parent Counties


Wilcox County, Alabama
Map of Alabama highlighting Wilcox County
Location in the state of Alabama
Map of the U.S. highlighting Alabama
Location of Alabama in the U.S.
Founded December 13, 1819
County Seat Camden


County Courthouse

Wilcox County Alabama Courthouse.jpg
Wilcox Courthouse
100 Broad Street
Camden, AL 36726
Phone: (334) 682-4126

Probate Judge has marriage, probate and land records from 1819


Parent County

1819--Wilcox County was created 13 December 1819 from Monroe and Dallas Counties.  County seat: Camden [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Alabama county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Alabama County Boundary Maps" (1799-1980) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Alabama counties see: Alabama Counties with Burned Courthouses



Populated Places

Neighboring Counties


African Americans



Historical populations
Census Pop.
For tips on accessing Wilcox County, Alabama Genealogy census records online, see: Alabama Census.

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Alabama denominations, view the Alabama Church Records wiki page.

Please see listings for Fellowship Baptist Church and Friendship Baptist Church under Resources:  African Americans.

Court Records


Wilcox County, Alabama Online Historical Directories - identifies historical city, county, business and other directories available online on both free and pay-to-access websites.

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Alabama Land and Property for additional information about early Alabama land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.

To place a grant or deed on a map within context of Wilcox County, Alabama Genealogy see:

  • Boyd, Gregory A. Family Maps of Wilcox County, Alabama: with Homesteads, Roads, Waterways, Towns, Cemeteries, Railroads, and More. Norman, Okla.: Arphax Pub. Co., 2007. This is a definitive work and can be used as an index to land grants. Digital version at HistoryGeo.com ($). Website includes free surname index. FHL Book 976.138 E7b.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Wilcox County, Alabama Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Alabama Local Histories.



Civil War

Civil War service men from Wilcox County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies or regiments that were formed from men of Wilcox County.

- 1st Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company K (Wilcox True Blues)
- 3rd Regiment, Alabama Cavalry, Company C [formerly Robbins' Independent Co.]
- 3rd Regiment, Alabama Cavalry, Company D [formerly Jackson County Mounted Rifles]
- 3rd Regiment, Alabama Cavalry, Company I [formerly Lenoir County Cavalry]
- 3rd Regiment, Alabama Cavalry, Company K
- 4th Regiment, Alabama Cavalry (Russell's), Company A [formerly 3rd TN Cavalry]
- 6th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company C [subsequently, Company I]
- 7th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company H(Mounted)
- 13th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company A
- 23rd Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company A
- 23rd Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company K "Kings Guard"
- 32nd Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company D
- 38th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company B and H
- 42nd Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company C
- 44th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company C


Finding More Alabama Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Wilcox County, Alabama Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Probate Records

Probate records are held by the Wilcox County, Alabama Genealogy Probate Court. Most records are housed at the Wilcox County, Alabama Genealogy Courthouse. Many records are on microfilm at the Family History Library.

See the wiki page Alabama Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their places of residence.

Record types: Wills, dower records, personal property sales, settlement records, orphans’ records, and bonds.

Online Probate Records

Research Guides

  • Inventory of the County Archives of Alabama: Wilcox County. Birmingham, Ala.: The Survey, 1942. Digital version at Ancestry ($).


Alabama tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Alabama Taxation.

  • 1865-1866 - U.S. IRS Tax Assessment Lists, 1862-1918 at Ancestry ($). Wilcox County is in District 1.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Alabama State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online.

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Alabama. See also How to order Alabama Vital Records

Birth Records
Marriage Records
  • To 1825 Index to Marriages at Ancestry – ($); Index. contains over 12,000 names. Each entry includes groom, bride, marriage date, county, and state. Every name is indexed so you can search for one name, or two names that are linked.
  • 1805, 1820-1825, 1936–1969 Alabama, Marriage Collection, 1800–1969 at Ancestry – ($); Index. This collection is comprised of indexes created by several agencies - the Alabama Center for Health Statistics, Jordan Dodd of Liahona Research, and Hunting For Bears.
  • 1866-1900 "Alabama Marriages, 1809–1920" at Ancestry – ($); Index. This database is a collection of marriage records from the state. Researchers will find the names of both bride and groom along with the marriage date. The county where the ceremony was performed is also provided. Containing about 150,000 records and the names of nearly 300,000 men and women.

Death Records
  • 1881–1974 Index to Deaths and Burials at Ancestry – ($); Index. Volunteers extracted the details in this index from microfilmed copies of church, civil, family, and other records of Alabama deaths and burials. details vary depending on the original record. Note that the number of available records can vary widely by county, and this database does not necessarily represent a comprehensive set of death records for the state during this time.

Societies and Libraries


Wilcox Historical Society
P.O. Box 464
Camden, Alabama 36726


Wilcox County Library
100 Broad Street
Camden, Alabama 36726

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Family History Center Locator

Web Sites


  1. Alice Eichholz, Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, Revised ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1992), 13-28. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 1992
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. 3.0 3.1 3.2 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/4/4d/Igialabamatz.pdf.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 October 2015, at 18:06.
  • This page has been accessed 20,032 times.