Wilcox County, Georgia GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Wilcox County, Georgia ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Wilcox County, Georgia|
Location in the state of Georgia
|Founded||December 22, 1857|
|Address|| Wilcox County Courthouse]|
103 N Broad Street
Abbeville, GA 31001
Wilcox County Website
Wilcox County Courthouse
103 N Broad Street
Abbeville, GA 31001
Phone: (912) 467-2737
Probate Courth has birth and death records from 1927, marriage records from 1886 and probate records; Clerk Superior Court has land records from 1870, divorce and court records from 1900 and military records from 1917
Wilcox County Superior Court
103 North Broad Street
Abbeville, Georgia 31001
Telephone: (229) 467-2442
Fax: (229) 467-2886
Wilcox County Probate Court
103 N Broad Street # 104,
Abbeville, GA 31001
Phone: (229) 467-2220
For animated maps illustrating Georgia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Georgia County Boundary Maps" (1758-1932) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Georgia denominations, see the Georgia Church Records wiki page.
Land and Property
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Georgia Land and Property for additional information about early Georgia land grants from the government. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions (generally buying and selling deeds) were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.
Local histories are available for Wilcox County, Georgia Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Georgia Local Histories.
Regiments. Service men in Wilcox County, Georgia Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Wilcox County, Georgia Genealogy:
- - 10th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company H
- - 49th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company E
- - Georgia USGenWeb Archives Project
- Oaths of Allegiance given in Wilcox County 1861-1865 Georgia Pioneers ($)
Online Probate Records
- 1742–1992 Georgia Wills and Probate Records 1742-1992 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1742–1990 Georgia Probate Records 1742-1990 at FamilySearch.org images
Colonial courts kept some early probate records. From 1777 to 1798 and since 1852, the court of ordinary or register of probates has kept probate and guardianship records. The inferior court handled probate and guardianship matters from 1798 to 1852.
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (not all years).
- Digital Images of Wills. See names of Testators. Georgia Pioneers $
Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district.
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Georgia State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online..
- 1785-1950 - Georgia County Marriages 1785-1950 at FamilySearch.org — index and images
- 1808-1967 - Georgia Marriages 1808-1967 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1828-1978 - Georgia Marriage Records from Select Counties 1828-1978 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1699-1944 - Georgia Marriages 1699-1944 at Ancestry.com— index $
- 1933-1998 - Georgia Death Index 1933-1998 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1914-1927 - Georgia Deaths 1914-1927 at FamilySearch.org — index and images
- 1928-1939 - Georgia Deaths 1928-1939 at FamilySearch.org — index and images
- 1919-1998 - Georgia Deaths 1919-1998 at Ancestry.com — index $
Vital Record Substitutes
Genealogy Societies and Libraries
Central Georgia Genealogial Society
Post Office Box 2024
Warner Robins, GA 31099
Southwest Georgia Genealogical Society
P.O. Box 4672
Albany, GA 31706
Wiregrass Genealogical Society
45 25th Ave.
Eastman, GA 31023
Family History Centers
Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.
- Wilcox County, GA History, Records, Facts and Genealogy
- Georgia Genealogy Network Community on Google+
- Georgia Genealogy Network Group on Facebook
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county.
- FamilySearch Catalog
- Wilcox County, Georgia Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- Georgia Pioneers ($)
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Wilcox County, Georgia. Page 162 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ Paul K. Graham, Georgia Courthouse Disasters (Decatur, Georgia: Genealogy Co., 2013), 59-60. At various libraries (WorldCat).
- ↑ Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/5/53/Igigeorgiamz.pdf.
- This page was last modified on 22 December 2015, at 23:49.
- This page has been accessed 10,409 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News