Wilford, NottinghamshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Gotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Parishes

Contents

Parish History

Wilford, Nottinghamshire
Wilford St Wilfred Nottinghamshire.jpg
Wilford St Wilfred Nottinghamshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Rushcliffe
County Nottinghamshire
Poor Law Union Basford PLU
Registration District Basford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1621
Bishop's Transcripts: 1600
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bingham
Diocese Lincoln
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Nottinghamshire Record Office

WILFORD, or Wilfrids Ford (St. Wilfrid), a parish, in the union of Basford, N. division of the wapentake of Rushcliffe, S. division of the county of Nottingham, 1½ mile (S. W.) from Nottingham. There is a place of worship for dissenters attached to Wilford House. [1]

Wilford (known locally as South Wilford) St Wilfrid is an Ancient Parish on the outskirts of Central Nottingham. The former village of Wilford became absorbed into the city long ago.

The Parish Church of St Wilfrid has been designated as a grade II* listed building British listed building

See also Wilford Wikipedia and Church website

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

This area was from 1837 part of the Basford registration district

Cemeteries

Wilford Hill Cemetery.  Memorials to those who lost their lives in the bombing of Nottingham. 9 May 1941, and 11 May 1941.  An Alphabetical listing of surname, given name, and age.  Transcription is in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol. 91, page 35, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n

Church records

Wilford, Nottinghamshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
WILFORD PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PALL

1657-1812


Deposited records at Nottinghamshire Archives Wilford St Wilfrid Baptisms 1658-1957 Marriages 1657-1957 Burials 1657-1938 Bishop's Transcripts 1600-1853
Nottinghamshire County Council
County Hall
West Bridgford
Nottingham
NG2 7QP telephone: 08449 808080 online

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Wilford

Nottingham, Wilford Hill Hebrew Congregation. Memorial Inscriptions giving an alphabetical listing surname, given name, age, date of death, dating from 1850. Some give year of birth. Trascription is in Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol. 97, pages 17-34. FHL Ref 942.52 D25n also Wilford Hill - Jewish dating from 1967, transcription of Memorial Inscriptions with some on a plaque, Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine vol.93 pages 52, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n

North Wilford - St Faith's.  Parish and Congregation who gave their lives in both World Wars, an alphabetical listing, with initials of the given names. Article in Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol 91, pages 43-44, FHL 942.52 D25n

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438908.

See Nottinghamshire Census

Occupation

Transcribed by Bailey, Bryan, Certificates for Using Hair Powder Issued 1795-1978. For each Nottinghamshire Parish, gives the Cerificate no. date, surname, given name, and description. Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol.127, page 1-38, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n - the original is at Nottinghamshire Archives Ref QDT 1/1-4.

Poor Law Unions

Basford Poor Law Union, Nottinghamshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Wilford in GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 575-577.Date accessed: 21 October 2013.
  2. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 6 December 2014, at 15:37.
  • This page has been accessed 1,235 times.