Willenhall Holy Trinity, StaffordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire Parishes

Guide to Willenhall Holy Trinity, Staffordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Willenhall Holy Trinity, Staffordshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred South Offlow
County Staffordshire
Poor Law Union Wolverhampton PLU
Registration District Wolverhampton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1848
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Wolverhampton
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1846 - Court of the Peculiar of Wolverhampton; Post-1845 - Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Staffordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

WILLENHALL, a chapelry, in the parish and union of Wolverhampton, S. division of the hundred of Offlow and of the county of Stafford, 3 miles (W.)from Walsall, on the road to Wolverhampton. Two districts, named respectively St. Stephen's and Holy Trinity, were endowed in 1846. There are places of worship for Baptists and Wesleyans. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

See West Midlands BMD and Staffordshire BMD

Church records

Census records


Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474618.

Poor Law Unions

Wolverhampton Poor Law Union, Staffordshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Staffordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/STS/Willenhall/index.html

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 577-579. Date accessed: 06 November 2012.
  2. Ann J. Kettle, A List of Families in the Archdeaconry of Stafford, 1532-3 (Stafford: Staffordshire Record Society, 1976). FHL British Book 942.46 B4sc ser. 4 v. 8
Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:36.
  • This page has been accessed 1,043 times.