Willerby, YorkshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Parishes S-YGotoarrow.png East Riding of Yorkshire

East Riding of Yorkshire Parishes Guide to Willerby, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Willerby, Yorkshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Dickering
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Scarborough PLU
Registration District Scarborough
Records begin
Parish registers: 1653
Bishop's Transcripts: 1601
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Dickering
Diocese York
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

This ancient parish (AP) was created before 1813. Church of England records began in 1653.

WILLERBY (St. Peter), a parish, in the union of Scarborough, wapentake of Dickering, E. riding of York; containing the townships of Binnington and Staxton, 6 miles (W. by N.) from Hunmanby. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans.[1] ALSO WILLERBY, a township, in the union of Sculcoates, partly in the parish of Cottingham, Hunsley Beacon division of the wapentake of Harthill, and partly in the parish of Kirk-Ella, county of the town of Hull, E. riding of York, 5½ miles (W. N. W.) from Hull.[2]

To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Resources

Civil Registration

Records from the Ryedale registration district held at the North Yorkshire Registration Service are included in the online index available at Yorkshire BMD for post 1837 events; view the coverage table to check progress on the availability of index search.

Marriages include

  • Church of England marriages.
  • Civil Marriages at register offices, or non-conformist churches where a registrar was required to be present at the ceremony.
  • Authorised Person marriages. These cover the non-conformist places of worship which applied to keep their own registers as a result of the Marriage Act, 1898 (bringing them into line with Jewish and Quaker marriages which had this status since 1837). In such cases an 'Authorised Person' (usually the minister or priest) recorded the ceremony instead of the registrar. Earlier weddings in these places would be included with civil marriage registers.

A secondary index of Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD however this secondary index may omit the event and may not contain the detail of the Yorkshire BMD index

Church records

Online Records

Online data content from chapelry registers of Willerby exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:

IARC = Internet Archive - free
FS = FamilySearch.org
AC = http://www.ancestry.com/ (£)
HATH = HathiTrust.org - free
JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)
WILLERBY PARISH (1705) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1705-1865

1705-1866

None

JOIN None
1705-1836

None
AC None

None

None

For a full list of all those chapels surrounding **Chapelry** and comprising the whole ancient parish of Wellerby to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the Willerby page.

Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts, nonconformist and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records. Add links to the FamilySearch Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection.

Census records

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 577-579. Adapted. Date accessed: 11 October 2013.
  2. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 577-579. Adapted. Date accessed: 11 October 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:07.
  • This page has been accessed 1,211 times.