Willesden, MiddlesexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Middlesex Gotoarrow.png Middlesex Parishes

Willesden, Middlesex family history and genealogy research page. Guide to parish registers (baptism, christening, marriage, and burial records), civil registration (birth, marriage, and death records), census records, history, wills, cemetery, online transcriptions and indexes, an interactive map and website resources.

Willesden, Middlesex
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Ossulstone (Kensington Division)
County Middlesex
Poor Law Union Hendon PLU
Registration District Hendon
Records begin
Parish registers: 1569
Bishop's Transcripts: 1813
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not created until 1858
Diocese London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of the Dean and Chapter of St Paul's Cathedral
Location of Archive
Middlesex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

WILLESDEN St. Mary, a parish, in the union of Hendon, Kensington division of the hundred of Ossulstone, County of Middlesex, 5 miles west by northwest of London. The parish contains the ancient village of Neasdon, the village of Harlesdon Green, part of Kensal-Green (the two latter on the Harrow-road), and a part of the large village of Kilburn.'[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Here is a list of St Mary Willesden Parish's chapels of ease and district churches, all lying within its boundary prior to about 1900:


Online Willesden Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1569
1569
1569

Images
1569-1812 Ancestry baptisms, marriages, and burials[2]
1813-1906 Ancestry[3] 1755-1921 Ancestry[4] 1813-1964 Ancestry[5]

Indexes

1754-1837 FindMyPast[6] 1579-1615 BritishOrigins[7]


1776-1800 BritishOrigins[8]

    1800-1837 Ancestry[9]    

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.


Census and Inhabitants Lists

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438806.

1666 Hearth Tax


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Middlesex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Manorial Records

Records survive for seven manors in Willesden Parish: Bounds Manor (1422-1871), Brondesbury Manor (1649), Chamber's Manor (1649), Harlesden Manor (1437-1689), Malories Manor (1437-1448), Oxgate Manor (1649), and Willesden Rectory Manor (1675-1900). The Manorial Documents Register will help you locate these records.

Poor Law Unions

Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, 1848. Adapted. Date accessed: 21 January 2014.
  2. London, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1538-1812, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Mary, Willesden in Brent Borough. Marriages from 1754 to 1812 are not included in this database. Partially indexed.
  3. London, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1906, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as Willesden St Mary in Brent Borough. Partially indexed.
  4. London, England, Marriages and Banns, 1754-1921, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as Willesden St Mary in Brent Borough. Partially indexed.
  5. London, England, Deaths and Burials, 1813-1980, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as Willesden St Mary in Brent Borough. Partially indexed.
  6. 'West Middlesex Marriage Index Coverage,' Find My Past, accessed 8 March 2012.
  7. 'Greater London Burials: Middlesex and City of London Burials: Parishes, Counts and References,' British Origins (£), accessed 4 April 2013.
  8. 'Webb's London Marriages - Marriages, periods and parishes/churches,' British Origins, accessed 12 March 2012.
  9. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes (n.p.: n.p., n.d.). FHL British Book 942 V25pm

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 24 June 2014, at 22:37.
  • This page has been accessed 3,287 times.