Williamsburg County, South CarolinaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United StatesGotoarrow.pngSouth CarolinaGotoarrow.pngWilliamsburg County

Williamsburg County, South Carolina genealogy and family history research guide. Introduces you to county topics such as vital record births, marriages, divorces, and deaths, census, court records, deeds, maps, immigration, maps, military records, newspapers, obituaries, plantations, probate records, slaves, local archives, libraries, museums, churches, cemeteries, and Civil War records.

link=http://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/South Carolina_Online_Genealogy_Records South Carolina
Online Records

Coordinates: 33.62°0′N 79.73°0′W / 33.62°N 79.73°W / 33.62; -79.73

Williamsburg County, South Carolina
Map
Map of South Carolina highlighting Williamsburg County
Location in the state of South Carolina
Map of the U.S. highlighting South Carolina
Location of South Carolina in the U.S.
Facts
Founded 1802
County Seat Kingstree
Courthouse

Contents

Quick Dates

Williamsburg County's civil records start the following years:

Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1915 1911 1915 1810 1806 1806

County Courthouse

WilliamsburgSC.jpg

Williamsburg County Courthouse
125 West Main St.
Kingstree, South Carolina 29556

Clerk of Court
125 West Main St.
Kingstree, SC 29556
Phone: 843-355-9321 ext. 552
Court and land records

Probate Court
125 West Main St.
Kingstree, SC 29556
Phone: 843-355-9321 ext. 558
Probate and marriage records
Prince William, Duke of Cumberland (1721-1765)

Hours:
8 a.m. - 5 p.m. Monday - Friday

Historical Facts

Williamsburg County was created in 1785 within Georgetown District from the westernmost quarter part of the overarching Georgetown District.[1] See the 1785 South Carolina map.

Williamsburg County was not surveyed or properly laid out at this time. Its boundaries were ambiguous. Its county government never became functional. Most records were kept at the parish level, or at the Georgetown District level; none were kept at the county level. There was no county seat. There were no political connotations to the county's existence. In this case the term "county" had no meaning other than to describe an approximate geographical area. It was a county in name only.[2]

Williamsburg County was abolished in 1798. However, in 1804 it was revived with similar boundaries.[2]

For documents of people who lived in this area 1785-1804, look in:[3]

Starting in 1804 also look for records in the county seat at Kingstree, South Carolina.

The county is named after Prince William, Duke of Cumberland (1721-1765).[4]

Parent County

1785-1798--Williamsburg County was created in 1785 from part of Georgetown District. This original county was aboltished in 1798 after failing to function.
1804-present--Williamsburg County was re-created with the same boundaries.
County seat: Kingstree [5]

County Pronunciation

  1. Hear it spoken[6]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating South Carolina county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation South Carolina County Boundary Maps" (1682-1987) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Variant Spellings

  • Williamsburgh[7]

Record Loss

  • Lost census: 1890

For a list of record loss in South Carolina counties see: South Carolina Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Andrews Cook Kingstree Salters
Antioch Cooper Lane Salters Depot
Ard Crossroads Earle Martins Crossroads Singletary Forks
Baker Crossroads Edwards Midway Crossroads Snow Junction
Bartell Crossroads Fowler Moore Crossroads Snow Town
Blakely Gordonville Morrisville Stuckey
Bloomingvale Gourdin Mouzon Suttons
Brockington Greeleyville Muddy Creek Crossroads Taft
Brunson Crossroads Harper Crossroads Nesmith Terrell Crossroad
Bryans Crossroads Hebron Crossroads New Market (hist.) Tisdale
Cades Heineman Nexsen (hist.) Trio
Carris Hemingway Old Morrisville Union Crossroads
Cedar Creek Henry Outland Warsaw
Cedar Swamp Hogeye Crossroads Poplar Mill Willtown (hist.)
Chandlers Hopewell Rock Bluff Workman
Cherry Hill Indiantown Rome
Clarks Crossroads Kellehan Crossroads

For further information (and links) on these populated places, please go to Populated Places, Williamsburg County, South Carolina

Neighboring Counties

Berkeley | Clarendon | Florence | Georgetown | Marion

Resources

Scwilliamsburg.jpg

Research Guides

African Americans

United States African Americans Gotoarrow.png South Carolina African Americans

  • Loyd, Kathy Dodge. A List of Slave Owners of the 1850 Williamsburg County, South Carolina Slave Schedule. Kingstree, S.C.: K.D. Loyd, 2003. FHL 975.783 X2L 1850

Known plantations South Carolina Plantations:

  • Burrows Hall
  • China Grove
  • Faircloth - Trio
  • Garner W.C.
  • Gum Tree
  • Holly Tree
  • Long Lands - Greeleyville
  • Mouzon - Kingstree
  • Rhems - Rhems
  • Rodger Mcgill House
  • Scott Woods - Blakely
  • Shaw
  • Spring Bank
  • Thorntree - Kingstree

Cemeteries

There are more than # burial grounds in the county. To view a list, see Williamsburg County, South Carolina Cemeteries.

Census

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1810 6,871
1820 8,716 26.9%
1830 9,018 3.5%
1840 10,327 14.5%
1850 12,447 20.5%
1860 15,489 24.4%
1870 15,489 0.0%
1880 24,110 55.7%
1890 27,777 15.2%
1900 31,685 14.1%
1910 37,626 18.8%
1920 38,539 2.4%
1930 34,914 −9.4%
1940 41,011 17.5%
1950 43,807 6.8%
1960 40,932 −6.6%
1970 34,243 −16.3%
1980 38,226 11.6%
1990 36,815 −3.7%
2000 37,217 1.1%
Source: "American FactFinder". United States Census Bureau.
1810, 1820, 1830, 1840, 1850, 1860, 1870, 1880, 1900, 1910, 1920, and 1930 federal population schedules of Williamsburg County are available online. For tips on accessing census records online, see South Carolina Census. If you're having trouble finding your ancestors in online indexes, try checking printed indexes. Created by local experts familiar with the area's families, these indexes are often transcribed more accurately than online nationwide indexes.

See South Carolina Population Schedule Indexes: Fiche, Film, or Book for more information about statewide printed indexes.

See Williamsburg County, SC census assignments, including links to transcribed files [The USGenWeb Census Project®]

1790-1840
  • Three Rivers Historical Society. Williamsburg County [South Carolina] Census[es], 1790, 1800, 1810, 1820, 1830, 1840. Hemingsway, S.C.: Three Rivers Historical Society, 19--. FHL Collection 975.783 X2w 1790-1840
1820 Manufactures

The original manufactures schedules for South Carolina are kept at the NARA, Washington, D.C. FHL copies: FHL Collection 1024517 - 1024518.

Published abstract:

  • National Archives. Indexes to Manufactures Census of 1820. 1920; reprint, Knightstown, Ind.: Bookmark, 1977. FHL Collection 973 X2m 1820; digital version at Lineages. [Includes this county.]
1840 Revolutionary War Pensioners
  • A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census. Washington, D.C.: Blair and Rives, 1841. FHL Collection 973 X2pc 1840; FHL Collection 2321; digital version at Google Books. [See South Carolina, Williamsburg District on page 142.]
1850
  • United States Census, 1850, Williamsburgh District. FHL Collection 975.783 X2u 1850
1860
  • Reid, Mary Ritter. Williamsburg County, South Carolina, 1860 Federal Census Transcribed from Microfilm. 1977; reprint, Hemingway, S.C.: Three Rivers Historical Society, 1985. FHL Collection 975.783 X2r 1860
1870
  • Reid, Mary Ritter. Williamsburg County, South Carolina 1870 Federal Census. Hemingway, S.C.: Three Rivers Historical Society, 1977. FHL Collection 975.783 X2r 1870
1880
  • Reid, Mary Ritter and Three Rivers Historical Society. Williamsburg County, South Carolina 1880 Census. Hemingway, S.C.: n.p., 1981. FHL Collection 975.783 X2r 1880
1900
  • Williamsburg County, South Carolina 1900 Census. FHL Collection 975.783 X2w 1900

Church

Episcopal Church

Before 1785, residents of what is now Williamsburg County were served by these colonial parishes.[8]

  • Wallace, James A.. History of Williamsburg Church: A Discourse Delivered on Occasion of the 120th Anniversary of the Organization of the Williamsburg Church, July 4th, 1856, Kingstree, S.C.: With Notes and an Appendix. Salisbury, N.C.: Bell & James, Printers, 1856. Digital versions at Ancestry ($) and Google Books.

Court

Williamsburg County has court records from 1806 that are held in the office of the Clerk of Court. Williamsburg County was formed from the territory of the non-functioning Williamsburg County within the Georgetown District. From 1800 - 1804 Williamsburg County was briefly a part of Georgetown County The records of the Georgetown District court as well as Georgetown County are housed with the Georgetown County Clerk of Court.

The South Carolina Archives and History Center has court records available on microfilm for Williamsburg County.

The Family History Library collection includes books and microfilm regarding court records for Williamsburg County.

DNA

DNA Double Helix.png
DNA has been collected from men claiming descent from the following Charleston County residents. FamilySearch has not independently verified the lineages of those tested.

Genealogy 

It is anticipated that this bibliography will eventually identify all known family histories published about residents of this county. Use this list to:

  • Locate publications about direct ancestors
  • Find the most updated accounts of an ancestor's family
  • Identify publications, to quote Elizabeth Shown Mills, about an ancestor's "FAN Club" [Friends, Associates, and Neighbors]

General

As of August 2010, a query for persons born in Williamsburg, South Carolina at World Connect, produces more than 7,000 results.

Surname indexes to Leonardo Andrea's Files | Folders | Resources are available online, courtesy: The Andrea Files: South Carolina Genealogical Research. Gotoarrow.png Learn more.

  • Jenkinson, Gordon Bubber. A History of the Homes and People of Williamsburgh District. Charleston, S.C.: The History Press, 2007. FHL 975.783 J7j

Message Boards

Bibliography

  • [Brockington] Wells, Laurence K. "Brockington Family Origins," The South Carolina Magazine of Ancestral Research, Vol. 38, No. 1 (Winter 2010):39-41. FHL Book 975.7 B2sc v. 38
  • [Buford] Buford, Marcus Bainbridge. A Genealogy of the Buford Family in America, With Records of a Number of Allied Families. San Francisco, Calif., 1903. Digital version at Internet Archive - free.
  • [Burrows] Wells, Laurence K. "Burrows of Williamsburg," The South Carolina Magazine of Ancestral Research, Vol. 38, No. 2 (Spring 2010):63-70. FHL Book 975.7 B2sc v. 38
  • [Cox] Thornton, Caroline E. Facts on the Life of George Edmond Gee Cox [and] Information on Rev. Samuel C. James, Williamsburg County, S.C. Typescript, 1990. FHL 1597813 Item 13
  • [Gaskins] Hanna, Muriel K. and Gale Stanley Grainger. Gaskins / Gaskin Family Williamsburg and Kershaw County South Carolina. n.p.: M.K. Hanna & G.S. Grainger, 2002. FamilySearch Books Online; FHL 929.273 G212h.
  • [James] Thornton, Caroline E. Facts on the Life of George Edmond Gee Cox [and] Information on Rev. Samuel C. James, Williamsburg County, S.C. Typescript, 1990. FHL 1597813 Item 13
  • [Lee] Brown, Gerald D. A Genealogy of a Lee Family: Ancestry and Descendants of David Lee, Sr.: Mainly of Old Williamsburg District - Present Day Florence County, South Carolina. Hemingway, S.C.: Three Rivers Historical Society, 1995. FHL 929.273 L51br
  • [McKenzie] Brown, Gerald D. Descendants of Daniel and Rebecca McKenzie Old Williamsburg/Sumter Districts of South Carolina. Hemingway, S.C.: Three Rivers Historical Society, 1995. FHL 929.273 M199b
  • [Parker] Smith, Betty Mae James. A Parker Family History: Descendants of Willoughby Parker, Williamsburg County, S.C. Hemingway, S.C.: Three Rivers Historical Society, [1996]. FHL 929.273 P223sb
  • [Plowden] Plowden, Robert W. Record of Edward Plowden 1st Who Came to Williamsburg County, South Carolina in 1732 and His Descendants. Florence, Ala.: Plowden Clan of America, 1964. FHL 1027881 Item 13  
  • [Stubbs] Boswell, Jimmie John Stubbs. John Stubbs (1718-1788) of Williamsburg, South Carolina, and His Descendants. Bryan, Texas: J.R. Boswell, 1990. FHL 929.273 St93b

Land

Because of South Carolina’s history as an agricultural state many residents owned land. For more information about types of land records see South Carolina Land and Property. Tracing records through South Carolina county and district changes can be difficult. In general, for earliest records begin by searching the Charleston District, then your ancestor’s residential district, then neighboring districts, then the residential county, then neighboring counties. Not all districts and counties kept records. The following chart show where you may best expect to find land records for Williamsburg County:

Tracing Land Currently in Williamsburg County with Parent Counties and Districts [9]
Date Government Office  
1868-Present Williamsburg County
1804-1865 Williamsburg District
1769-1804 Georgetown District Records Lost
1719-1769 Charleston District
1710-1719 Proprietary Land Grants

Plats For State Land Grants 1784-1868

This series consists of recorded copies of plats for state land grants for the Charleston and the Columbia Series with their certificates of admeasurement or certification.  All personal names and geographic features on these plats are included in the repository's On-line Index to Plats for State Land Grants

The South Carolina Constitution of 1790 required the surveyor general to maintain offices in both the new capital at Columbia and in Charleston. The surveyor general began to use separate volumes for recording plats in his Columbia office in 1796. Before that, all plats were recorded in the set of volumes begun in Charleston in 1784. After 1796, most plats for land grants in the Upper Division of the state were recorded and filed in Columbia. The surveyor general chose to make the Columbia volumes a continuation of the state plat volumes begun in Charleston and gave the initial Columbia volume the number thirty-six to correspond with the number of the volume that had then been reached in the Charleston series. As a result, there are volumes numbered thirty-six through forty-three from each office, but the records in them are not duplicative.

Also included are the Plan Books containing Plats and Plans.

Local Histories

  • Boddie, William Willis. History of Williamsburg: Something about the People of Williamsburg County, South Carolina, from the First Settlement by Europeans about 1705 until 1923. Columbia, S.C.: State Co., 1923. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
  • Boddie, William Willis. History of Williamsburg. Columbia, SC, USA: The State Company, 1923. Digital version at Ancestry ($).

Maps

Military

War of 1812
  • "Captain Samuel Bigham's Co., 1812," Three Rivers Chronicle, Spring 1981, Volume 1, Issue 1. Three Rivers Historical Society : Hemingway, SC.
  • List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883; Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for Why Pensioned, the Post-Office Address, the Rate of Pension Per Month, and the Date of Original Allowance... Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1883. FHL Collection 973 M2Lp v. 5; digital versions at Google Books and Internet Archive. [See Vol. 5, South Carolina, Williamsburgh County [sic], p. 189. Identifies War of 1812 veterans living in this county in 1883.]
Civil War (1861 to 1865)

Civil War service men from Williamsburg County served in various regiments. Men often joined a regiment or a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were formed in Williamsburg County or from many of its men.

- 1st Regiment, South Carolina Infantry (6 months, 1861)
- Company F - (also known as the Wee Nee Volunteers and Williamsburg Volunteers)
- 1st Regiment, South Carolina Infantry (McCreary's) (1st Provisional Army)
- Company F - (also known as Wee Nee Volunteers)
- 2nd Regiment, South Carolina Artillery
- Company D
- 3rd Battalion, South Carolina Light Artillery (Palmetto Battalion)
- Company C (also known as the Wilson Light Artillery, Culpepper's Light Artillery and Culpeper Battery)
- Company E (also known as the Yeadon Light Artillery)
- 3rd Regiment, South Carolina Infantry
- Company K
- 4th Regiment, South Carolina Cavalry (Rutledge's)
- Company E
- Company F
- Company I
-6th Battalion, South Carolina Infantry (Byrd's)
- Company B
- Company C
- 6th Regiment, South Carolina Cavalry (Aiken's Partisan Rangers) (1st Partisan Rangers)
- Company I
- 7th Battalion, South Carolina Reserves (Ward's)
- Company A - Roster
- Company E - Roster
- 10th Regiment, South Carolina Infantry
- Company A
- Company D
- Company E
- Company H
- Company I
- 14th Battalion, South Carolina Cavalry,
- Company A
- 15th Regiment, South Carolina Infantry
- Company G
- 25th Regiment, South Carolina Infantry (Eutaw Regiment)
- Company K, also known as Ripley Guards
  • Smith, Danny H. The Call to Arms. (S.l. : s.n., 19--), 225 pages. "This information came from many sources including basic information from Boddie's "History of Williamsburg", Confederate pension records, from cemetery records...from newspapers, old church records and from searching cemeteries..." Book found at FHL 975.783 M2s.
  • Three Rivers Historical Society.Williamsburg County Confederate enlistment records, 1862-1864. (S.l. : s.n., 19--). 117 pages. Includes: (1) persons reporting for enrollment; (2) persons exempted from conscription; (3) conscripts detailed; (4) conscripts examined and accepted; (5) persons enrolled & rejected by the surgeon; (6) overseers exempted; (7) per- sons exempted by the Secretary of War; (8) deserters ar- rested and forwarded; (9) conscripts examined by board & recommended for light duty. Book found at FHL 975.783 M2wc and Other Libraries.
  • Three Rivers Historical Society. Williamsburg County record of Confederate pensioners, 1905-1911. ( [Hemingway, SC] (414 N. Main St., Hemingway 29554) : Three Rivers Historical Society, 2000). 49 pages. Photocopies of original records. Book found at FHL 975.783 M2w and Other Libraries.

Newspapers

Historic

The Library of Congress has identified the following historic newspapers for Williamsburg County, South Carolina on their Chronicling America website. For publication details, including dates of publication, frequency, preceding and succeeding titles, and to find out which libraries have holdings, click on the newspaper title.

Current

  • The News (Kingstree, S.C.) Online edition.

Periodicals

Tap into the minds of local experts. Editors of genealogical periodicals publish unique sources that researchers new to their area may not encounter. Periodicals at various levels (county, region, and state) may carry articles useful to research in this area. For this county, see:

  • Three Rivers Chronicle

Probate

Probate is the “court procedure by which a will is proved to be valid or invalid” and encompasses “all matters and proceedings pertaining to the administration of estates, guardianships, etc.”[10] Various types of records are created throughout the probate process. These may include, wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. For further information see probate records in South Carolina.

The South Carolina Department of Archives and History has microfilms or typescripts of wills, inventories, bills of sale, power of attorneys, bonds, notes, administrations, judgments, and sales records. They have placed Will Transcriptions for 1782 to 1855 online. Index searchable by name and the image is available. Estate records for Wiliamsburg County, 1800-1869, are available on microfilm, with an index that covers 1806-1882.

Probate records for Williamsburg County are found in the court of ordinary, the probate court, and the court of equity. Estate records for the probate court, 1869-1916, are also available on microfilm through the Family History Library. FHL Film 2188958 Also see Williamsburg County, South Carolina wills, 1806-1879, from the Court of Ordinary for Williamsburg District. FHL Film 24522

  • Elaine Y. Eaddy, comp. Williamsburg County Probate Records, 1806- ca. 1900 and [Not]es from Miscellaneous Sources. Hemingway, South Carolina : Three Rivers Historical Society (South Carolina), [19--]. FHL Book 975.783 P2ee
  • Williamsburg County Wills, Book A, 1802-1820 (transcripts). See names of testators. South Carolina Pioneers
  • Williamsburg County Wills, Book B, 1827-1840 (transcripts). See names of testators. South Carolina Pioneers
  • Williamsburg County Wills, Book C, 1820-1841 (transcripts).  See names of testators. South Carolina Pioneers
  • Williamsburg County Wills, Book D, 1842-1854 (transcripts). See names of testators. South Carolina Pioneers

Taxation

Tax-related records are kept by the offices of the county Assessor, Auditor, Sheriff, and Treasurer. Taxes were levied on real and personal property and can help establish ages, residences, relationships, and the year an individual died or left the area. They can be used as substitutes for missing or destroyed land and census records.

  • South Carolina Department of Archives and History tax lists for Williamsburg County.
Published abstracts
  • [1811] Taxpayers, 1811, Three Rivers Chronicle, Vol. 12, No. 1 (Mar. 1992).
  • [1860, 1865] Tax Returns, 1860, 1865, Three Rivers Chronicle, Vol. 18, No. 1 (Mar. 1997).
  • [1884-1885, 1901] Dunahoe, Rebecca Hughes, Toni Cusack Matthews, and Jason Roy Cockfield. Treasurer's Tax Report, Williamsburg County, S.C. Hemingway, S.C.: Three Rivers Historical Society, n.d. FHL Books 975.783 R4d 1885; 975.783 R4d 1884; 975.783 R4d 1901

Vital Records

Birth, marriage, and death records were not recorded by South Carolina until the 1900s, thus leaving a lack of vital records. Substitute records, when available, are used to obtain this information. These substitute records including newspapers, court records have been added to this section, when applicable.

Birth

State-wide birth registration began in 1915. For a copy of a birth from 1915 or later, contact the South Carolina Department of Health.  The Williamsburg County Health Department also has copies but they provide only an abbreviated form with limited information. For more information, see the South Carolina Vital Records page.

Marriage

In South Carolina, marriage licenses were not required by local governments until 1 July 1911. However, in the 1700s, the Church of England parish churches were required to record all marriages - even if the couple were not members of the denomination. Not all churches recorded these marriages and some have not survived. See South Carolina Vital Records for more information.

The Williamsburg County probate court holds marriage licenses issued from 1 July 1911 to the present. Statewide registration of marriages began in July 1950 and the South Carolina Division of Vital Records has copies of licenses issued after 1 July 1950 through November 2009.

Newspapers are used as a substitute to locate marriage information. See South Carolina Newspapers.

Marriages and Marriage Substitutes - Indexes and Records

  • 1791-1891- Marriage, Death, and Estate Notices from Georgetown, South Carolina Newspapers, 1791-1861 [11] FHL Collection WorldCat - abstracts, covers Williamsburg County
  • 1897-1994 - Index to Marriage Notices in Williamsburg County, South Carolina Newspapers, 1897-1994 by Three Rivers Historical Society [12] FHL Collection WorldCat - index
  • 1911-1950 - Williamsburg County, South Carolina Marriage Registers, 1911-1950 [13] FHL Collection - index and records
  • 1911-1950 - Williamsburg County, South Carolina Marriage Licenses, 1911-1950; Petitions to Establish Marriages, with Affidavits, Prior to 1911 [14] FHL Collection - index and records
  • There are several online marriage indexes containing miscellaneous marriage records found in some counties of South Carolina listed on the South Carolina Vital Records page.
Death

State-wide death registration began in 1915. For a copy of the death certificates from 1915 or later, contact the South Carolina Department of Health. The Williamsburg County Health Department only has copies for deaths occurring in the last 5 years.  For more information, see the South Carolina Vital Records page.

Deaths and Death Substitutes - Indexes and Records

  • 1791-1891- Marriage, Death, and Estate Notices from Georgetown, South Carolina Newspapers, 1791-1861 [15] FHL Collection WorldCat - abstracts, covers Williamsburg County
  • 1914-1960 - State-wide South Carolina Death Indexes. There are several online death indexes covering all of South Carolina listed on the South Carolina Vital Records page.

Archives, Libraries, and Museums

Hemingway Library
Address:
East Andrews Street
Hemingway, South Carolina 29554
Telephone: 803–558–2011

Williamsburg County Library
Address:
135 Hampton Avenue
Kingstree, South Carolina 29556-3423
Telephone: 803–354–9486

Societies - Genealogical, Historical, Lineage

Three Rivers Historical Society
P.O. Box 811
Hemingway SC 29554
source: Society Hill

Family History Centers


Web Sites

Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: Williamsburg County, South Carolina

References

  1. "The Counties from 1664 to Present - In Alphabetical Order" in South Carolina - The Counties at http://www.carolana.com/SC/Counties/sc_counties_alphabetical_order.html (accessed 9 May 2011).
  2. 2.0 2.1 A History of Williamsburg District (County) in Carolana at http://www.carolana.com/SC/Counties/Williamsburg_county_sc.html (accessed 9 May 2011).
  3. "South Carolina Districts and Parishes 1775" [map] in Carolana at http://www.carolana.com/SC/Royal_Colony/sc_royal_colony_districts_parishes_1775.html (accessed 9 May 2011).
  4. "List of counties in South Carolina," Wikipedia.
  5. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  6. Voice of Phillip Stalvey, resident of Myrtle Beach, S.C. (2011).
  7. List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883; Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for Why Pensioned, the Post-Office Address, the Rate of Pension Per Month, and the Date of Original Allowance... (Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1883), 189. FHL Collection 973 M2Lp v. 5; digital versions at Google Books and Internet Archive.
  8. "South Carolina Districts and Parishes 1770" [map] in Carolana at http://www.carolana.com/SC/Royal_Colony/sc_royal_colony_districts_parishes_1770.html (accessed 11 May 2011).
  9. Schweitzer, George K. , South Carolina Genealogical Research (Knoxville, Tennessee: s.p. 1985), 39-42, FHL book 975.7 D27s
  10. Henry Campbell Black, Black's Law Dictionary, 5th ed. (St. Paul, Minnesota: West Publishing Co., 1979), 1081, "probate."
  11. Holcomb, Brent H., Marriage, Death, and Estate Notices from Georgetown, South Carolina Newspapers, 1791-1861, Easley, SC: Southern Historical Press, c1979.
  12. Three Rivers Historical Society, Index to Marriage Notices in Williamsburg County, South Carolina Newspapers, 1897-1994, Hemingway, SC: Three Rivers Historical Society (South Carolina), 1995.
  13. Williamsburg County, South Carolina Marriage Registers, 1911-1950, Salt Lake City, UT: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 2001.
  14. South Carolina, Probate Court, Williamsburg County, Williamsburg County, South Carolina Marriage Licenses, 1911-1950; Petitions to Establish Marriages, with Affidavits, Prior to 1911, Salt Lake City, UT: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 2000-2001.
  15. Holcomb, Brent H., Marriage, Death, and Estate Notices from Georgetown, South Carolina Newspapers, 1791-1861, Easley, SC: Southern Historical Press, c1979.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 9 October 2014, at 15:16.
  • This page has been accessed 16,616 times.