Williamson County, TexasEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Texas
Counties W
Williamson County
Guide to Williamson County Texas genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Williamson County, Texas | |||||||||
| Map | |||||||||
![]() Location in the state of Texas | |||||||||
![]() Location of Texas in the U.S. | |||||||||
| Facts | |||||||||
| Founded | March 13, 1848 | ||||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| County Seat | Georgetown | ||||||||
| Courthouse | |||||||||
| |||||||||
Contents |
County Courthouse
Williamson County CourthousePO Box 18
Georgetown, Texas 78627
Phone: 512.943.1515
County Clerk has birth and death records
from 1903, marriage, land probate and
court records from 1848 and military
discharge records from 1917; District
Clerk has divorce records[1]
History
The first Anglo-American settlement was in 1835 and was known as Tumlinson Fort.
Communities - The History and Images of Williamson County Cities and Towns - Williamson County Historical Commission
Parent County
1848--Williamson County was created 13 March 1848 from Milam County. County seat: Georgetown [2]
Places / Localities
Populated Places
The following cities are either entirely or partially located within Williamson County
Austin (partial)
Bartlett (partial)
Cedar Park
Florence
Georgetown
Granger
Hutto
Jarrell
Leander
Liberty Hill
Round Rock
Taylor
Thrall
Weir
Neighboring Counties
Resources
Cemeteries
Cemetery records often reveal birth, marriage, death, relationship, military, and religious information.
| Online Grave Transcripts | Published Grave Transcripts | County Cemetery Directories |
| Family History Library | ||
| WorldCat | ||
| |
||
| |
||
| |
| |
| |
| |
| See Texas Cemeteries for more information. | ||
Additional Cemetery Sources
- A list of cemeteries in Williamson County, Texas, including interment information for a portion of them, has been transcribed into digital format and made available online. This information can be accessed courtesy of the Williamson County Historical Commission via links to lists contained on the Cemeteries in Williamson County, Texas page.
- FindAGrave ~ Transcriptions and partial transcriptions for many Williamson County cemeteries.
- Tombstone Transcription Project ~ Partial transcription of cemetery tombstones ~ USGenWeb
- Texas Historic Cemeteries ~ Partial indexes to historic cemeteries
- African American Cemeteries Online ~ Partial index/transcriptions of African American cemeteries
- Texas Escapes Listing of Texas cemeteries with transcriptions and lots of pictures.
Individual cemeteries;
BillionGraves:
- Davis Cemetery, Leander
- Hunt Cemetery, Liberty Hill
- Rhodes Cemetery, Jollyville
- Rocky Hollow Cemetery, Georgetown
Church
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death/burial date and place. For general information about Texas denominations, view the Texas Church Records wiki page.
- Texas Christian Church Directory ~ ChurchAngel
- Catholic Parishes in Texas
Court
Texas Naturalization Records 1906-1989 ~ FamilySearch Record Collection
Land
After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions, including deeds and mortgages, have been recorded by the county. You can obtain copies of these land records by writing to the county clerk at the county courthouse. For more information, see Texas Land and Property.
The Family History Library Catalog lists microfilm copies of deeds, trust deeds, and mortgages of many counties.
- An index to Williamson County, Texas land records is available online at deed.wilco.org/RealEstate/searchentry.aspx A link is provided to an electronic copy of the deed.
- Family Land Heritage Program ~ Williamson County Historical Commission
Local Histories
Local histories are available for Williamson County, Texas. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Texas Local Histories.
- See the Histories page at the Williamson County Historical Commission.
- Williamson County Histories ~ USGenWeb Archives Project
Maps
- Historical Maps ~ From the Republic to the Turn of the Century ~ Hidden Ancestors
- Texas Counties Map. Click on the county to go to the Texas Genweb site
Military
- Texas, Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 ~ FamilySearch record collection
- Texas, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 ~ FamilySearch Record collection
- Military Resources ~ Links to research Civil War to Operation Enduring Freedom ~ Hidden Ancestors
- Fallen Heroes ~ Partial Index of casualties from Civil War to Operation Enduring Freedom ~ Hidden Ancestors
- Honoring Our Veterans ~ Partial index of veterans from Civil War to Operation Enduring Freedom ~ Hidden Ancestors
Newspapers
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Williamson County, Texas newspapers in online catalogs like:
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Do a Williamson County, Texas Place-name search for these and other records in the Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see FHL Catalog Place-name Search).
- Home Town News - Texas Newspaper Index with links
- Newslink - Texas Newspaper List (sorted by publication frequency)
- The Olden Times - Historic Texas News Online
Obituaries
- Obituary Resources ~ Links to research and locate obituaries ~ Hidden Ancestors
- USGenWeb Archives Obituary Project ~ Texas
- Afrigeneas ~ African American death notices, obituaries and funeral programs compiled by users from current newspapers and historical sources
- Obituary Depot ~ Texas Newspaper Citations
- Obituary Project ~ Hidden Ancestors
- Obituary Daily Times ~ Citations to over 15,000,000 obituaries including interactive search function
Probate
Probate records of Texas have been kept by the probate clerk in each county courthouse. You can obtain copies of the records from the clerk's office. In most counties, all information pertaining to a probate case is recorded in the "probate minutes."
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their places of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records.
See the Wiki page Texas Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.
- Search Tax, Criminal, Land and Wills Records ~ Ancestry.com (subscription)
Taxation
Texas tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Texas Taxation.
Texas County Tax Rolls, 1846-1910 lists FHL films with county tax lists. The lists vary by county and year. Most records are between the years of 1846 - 1910.
Williamson County, Texas Tax Records:
Public Search of Williamson County, Texas Tax Records
Records can be searched by:
PropID
AcctID
Owner
Address
Advanced Search
Vital Records
See Texas Vital Records for more information about Vital records in Texas. Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. United States Vital Records has additional research guidance on researching and using vital records.
A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Texas Vital Records State Department of Health or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.
Births
- Texas, Birth Certificates, 1903-1935 ~ FamilySearch records collection
- Texas, Birth Index, 1903-1997 ~ FamilySearch records collection
- Texas, Births and Christenings, 1840-1981 ~ FamilySearch records collection
Marriages
- Texas, County Marriage Index, 1837-1977 ~ FamilySearch records collection
- Texas, Marriages, 1837-1973 ~ FamilySearch record collection
- Texas, Marriages, 1966-2010 ~ FamilySearch record collection
- Williamson County marriages from 1848 to the present are available online at deed.wilco.org/Marriage/SearchEntry.aspx Electronic images of the records are linked in the search results.
Deaths
- Texas Death Index 1964 to 1998 [no images] Name index to Texas Statewide Death Certificates or four million people who have died since 1964.
- Texas Death Records 1890 – 1976 [with images]
Name index and images of statewide death certificates, 1890-1976. The name index has been created by FamilySearch and is tied to images of the Texas death certificates. Few certificates are available prior to 1903. - Texas, Death Index, 1903-2000 ~ FamilySearch records collection
- Texas, Deaths and Burials, 1903-1973 ~ FamilySearch records collection
- Texas, Deaths, 1890-1976 ~ FamilySearch records collection
- Texas, Deaths, 1977-1986 ~ FamilySearch records collection
- Footnote.com ($) has Texas Death Certificates 1890-1976 available online.
Divorce
- Texas Divorce Index 1968-2010 ~ FamilySearch records
- Texas Divorce Records 1968 - 2005 ~ Hidden Ancestors
Societies and Libraries
Williamson County Historical Commission
Williamson County Genealogical Society
Libraries
- Cedar Park Public Library
- Florence Public Library
- Georgetown Public Library
- Leander Public Library
- Liberty Hill Public Library
- Round Rock Public Library System
- Taylor Public Library
- Teinert Memorial Public Library
Family History Centers
- Introduction to LDS Family History Centers
- Georgetown Texas Family History Center
- Round Rock Texas Family History Center (Austin)
Web Sites
- TXGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the county.
- Hidden Ancestors Information on Texas genealogy research as well as genealogy research in general.
- USGenWeb Texas Archives Vital statistics, maps, obituaries, Bible records, tombstone transcriptions and many other records.
- Family History Library Catalog
References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Williamson County, Texas. Page 676 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 25 April 2013, at 17:09.
- This page has been accessed 2,579 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More


