Williton, SomersetEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.pngSomerset Gotoarrow.png Somerset Parishes

Guide to Williton, Somerset family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Williton, Somerset
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Williton and Freemanners
County Somerset
Poor Law Union Williton PLU
Registration District Williton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1792
Bishop's Transcripts: 1750
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Dunster
Diocese Bath and Wells
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Taunton
Location of Archive
Somerset Record Office

Contents

Parish History

WILLITON, a chapelry, in the parish of St. Decuman, union of Williton, hundred of Williton and Freemanners, county of Somerset, 6¼ miles (E. S. E.) from Dunster; There are places of worship for Baptists and Wesleyans.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Williton, Somerset parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[3]
WEST = West Somerset Parish Register Transcriptions - free[4]
WILLITON PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1792-1850
1829-1860

NBI

1813-1857
WEST 1792-1850
1829-1860


Census records

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Somerset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Tax records

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/SOM/Williton/index.html

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Date accessed and adapted: 27 September 2013.
  2. 'Somerset Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 17 October 2013.
  3. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 17 October 2013.
  4. West Somerset Parish Register Transcriptions, accessed 22 October 2013.
  5. E 179 Database, The National Archives, http://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/e179/, accessed 8 August 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 11 August 2014, at 20:50.
  • This page has been accessed 974 times.