Willoughby on the Wolds, NottinghamshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Gotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Parishes

Contents

Parish History

Willoughby on the Wolds, Nottinghamshire
St Mary & All Saints Willoughby-on-the-Wolds Nottinghamshire.jpg
St Mary & All Saints Willoughby-on-the-Wolds Nottinghamshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Rushcliffe
County Nottinghamshire
Poor Law Union Loughborough PLU
Registration District Loughborough
Records begin
Parish registers: 1680
Bishop's Transcripts: 1627
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bingham
Diocese Lincoln
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Manor of St John of Jerusalem or Shelford St Johns
Location of Archive
Nottinghamshire Record Office

WILLOUGHBY-IN-THE-WOLDS (St. Mary and All Saints), a parish, in the union of Loughborough, S. division of the wapentake of Rushcliffe and of the county of Nottingham, 7 miles (N. E. by E.) from Loughborough. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans. [1]

Additional information:

Willoughby-on-the-Wolds St Mary and All Saints is an Ancient Parish in Nottinghamshire on the Fosse way in the Bassetlaw district of Nottinghamshire. The parish boundary froms part of the county boundary with neighbours Wymeswold, Leicestershire Prestwold, Leicestershire Seagrave, Leicestershire and Old Dalby, Leicestershire

The Parish Church of St Mary and All Saints has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building

See also Willoughby on the Wolds Wikipedia

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Willoughby on the Wolds, Nottinghamshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
WILLOUGHBY ON THE WOLDS PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PALL

1682-1812


Deposited records at Nottinghamshire Archives Willoughby on the Wolds St Mary and All Saints Baptisms circa 1670-1970 Marriages 1682-1970 Burials circa 1670-1901 Bishop's Transcripts 1627-1844
Nottinghamshire County Council
County Hall
West Bridgford
Nottingham
NG2 7QP telephone: 08449 808080 online

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Willoughby on the Wolds

Willoughby on the Wolds. A transcription of Memorial Inscriptions dating from 1821, giving surname, given name, date of death and age. The original is held at Nottinhamshire Archives Ref DD/TS  19/35 and article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Magazine vol. 64, page 33 , Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438908.

See Nottinghamshire Census

Poor Law Unions

Loughborough Poor Law Union, Leicestershire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Willoughby on the Wolds in GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 10 December 2013.
  2. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 6 December 2014, at 15:41.
  • This page has been accessed 1,098 times.