Wilmington, SussexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  SussexGotoarrow.png  Sussex Parishes >

Wilmington, Sussex
Wilmington St Mary and St Peter East Sussex.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Longbridge
County Sussex
Poor Law Union Eastbourne PLU
Registration District Eastbourne
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538
Bishop's Transcripts: 1616
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Pevensey
Diocese Chichester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Lewes
Location of Archive
Sussex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

WILMINGTON (St. Mary and St. Peter), a parish, in the union of Eastbourne, hundred of Longbridge, rape of Pevensey, East division of Sussex, four and one-half miles South West from Hailsham. The parish is on the road from Lewes to Eastbourne. A Benedictine priory, a cell to the abbey of Grestein, in Normandy, was founded here in the time of William Rufus. The church is principally in the early and decorated styles, and consists of a nave and chancel, with chapels on the north and south sides, and a small tower surmounted by a spire.[1]

Wilmington St Mary and St Peter is an Ancient Parish in the Wealden district of East Sussex. The civil parish of Long Man includes the villages of Wilmington, Milton Street and Folkington

A history of the church Wilmington St Mary and St Peter

The church of St Mary and St Peter The Street Wilmington has been designated a grade I listed building British Listed building

Wilmington Sussex online Parish Clerks(OPC

See also Long Man Wikipedia list of places of worship in Wealden Wikipedia

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

For civil registration history see Eastbourne registration district
Certificates may be obtained from
East Sussex The Register Office Town Hall Grove Road
Eastbourne BN21 4UG Phone 01323 464780 Fax01323 431386 email eastbourne.registrar@eastsussex.gov.uk

Church records

Wilmington, Sussex parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
SOPC = Sussex Online Parish Clerks - free[3]
Wilmington, Sussex Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
IGI 1560-1676
SOPC Undefined




Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Wilmington

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464162.

Poor Law Unions

Eastbourne Poor Law Union, Sussex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 581-584. Adapted 16 May 2013.
  2. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Sussex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 2 January 2014.
  3. Sussex Online Parish Clerks, accessed 7 January 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 July 2014, at 23:12.
  • This page has been accessed 915 times.