Wilmslow, CheshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Parishes Gotoarrow.png Wilmslow

Guide to Wilmslow, Cheshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Wilmslow Church.jpg

Contents

Parish History

WILMSLOW (St. Bartholomew), is a parish, in the union of Altrincham, hundred of Macclesfield, North division of the county of Chester, 8 miles (N. W. by N.) from Macclesfield; containing, with the townships of Bollin-Fee, Chorley, Fulshaw, and Pownall-Fee. It is situated on the road from Manchester to Birmingham,and is intersected by the small river Bollin. The railway from Manchester to Crewe runs through the parish. The Wesleyans, Calvinistic Methodists, Quakers, and Unitarians, have places of worship.[1]

Wilmslow, Saint Bartholomew's, is an Ancient Parish in Cheshire and includes Bollin Fee, Bollinfee, Pownall Fee, Chorley near Macclesfield, Fulshaw, and Chorley.
The earliest documentary evidence of a church on the site is dated 1246. Nothing of this church remains but there is a crypt leading from the chancel which pre-dates the present church. Most of the church was built in the early 16th century also though it is possible that the lower part of the tower dates from the 15th century. The Hawthorne Chapel was added to the south side of the church in 1700, replacing a former chantry dated 1520. There was a restoration in 1862-63 by Brakspear, in 1878 Crowther added the vestry and the south porch, and a clerestory was added to the chancel in 1898 by Bodley and Garner.

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241246.

Church records

Wilmslow St Bartholomew registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
CPR = Cheshire Parish Register Project - free[3]
FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
FMP = FindMyPast
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[4]
Wilmslow St Bartholomew Parish (1558) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI
1819-1845

CPR 1558-1871
1558-1871
1558-1871
FS PR's 1558-1910
  NONE
1558-1934
  NONE
1558-1902
  NONE
FS BT'S 1599-1860
  NONE
1599-1836
  NONE
1599-1860
  NONE
FMP


1558-1902
1558-1902
NBI

1558-1902

Dean Row registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

AUDLEY PARISH (1538) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1864-1885


To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Parish registers for Wilmslow, Cheshire, 1558-1948 Cheshire Record Office call number: P123/3466/1/1-7, P123/3466/2/1-3, P123/3/1-6, P123/3466/5/1-3, P123/2492/C3/1/3/1-8, P123/3466/4/1-2, P123/5650/1-11, 14.

An index for Cheshire parish registers is available online in FamilySearch Historical Records (formerly Record Search)

Parish registers Contents FHL Films
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1558-1624. BRITISH
2106691 Item 9
Burials, Apr 1624-1812. Marriages, 1624-1788. Baptisms, Apr 1624-1864. BRITISH 2106692
Baptisms, Sep 1864-1877. Banns, 1754-1766, 1791-1803. Marriages, 17541-1863. Burials, 1813-1870. BRITISH 2106693
Burials, 1870 (from 9 Sep.)-1882. Marriage licences and certificate, 1742, 1824-1829. Coroner's warrants for burial, 1820-1829. BRITISH 2106694 Items 1 - 3
Banns 1766-1795, 1819-1844. BRITISH 2147235 Items 4 - 7
Baptisms, 1877-1910. Marriages, 1863-Apr. 1919. BRITISH 2147235 Items 4 - 7
Marriages, Apr. 1919-1948. Banns of Marriages, 1845-1889, 1906-1939. Burials, 1882-1902. BRITISH 2147236

Bishop's transcripts for Wilmslow, 1599-1860 Cheshire Record Office number: ECC/221

An index for Cheshire, Church of England, Bishop’s Transcripts is available online in Family Search Historical records ( formerly Record Search)

Non-Conformist Churches

  • Wilmslow, Sacred Heart and St. Teresa (Roman Catholic), Green Lane. Founded 1876 in Alma Lane, the present church was opened in 1914. Registers of baptisms 1871–1958, marriages 1884–1948 and burials 1889–1958 are at the Cheshire Record Office.
  • Wilmslow, Friends' Meeting House (Quakers), Altrincham Road. Founded 17th century. Registers 1654–1831 are at the Cheshire Record Office.
  •  Morley, Methodist Chapel (Wesleyan), Water Lane. Built in 1798, rebuilt in 1884.
  •  Wilmslow, Methodist Chapel (Wesleyan), Dean Row. Founded 1799, Built in 1849. Registers 1807–1837 are at the Cheshire Record Office.
  •  Wilmslow, Methodist Chapel (Wesleyan), Lende End. Built in 1807. Registers 1796–1837 are at the Cheshire Record Office.
  •  Hough, Methodist Chapel (Wesleyan). Built in 1838. Registers of baptisms 1854–1984 are at the Cheshire Record Office.
  •  Wilmslow, Methodist Chapel (New Connexion), Hawthorn Street. Built in 1870.
  •  Wilmslow, Presbyterian Chapel, Dean Row. Founded 1672, Built in 1688, became Unitarian Chapel in 1748. Records of births/baptisms 1748–1980, marriages 1845–63 and deaths/burials 1751–1857 are at the Cheshire Record Office.
  •  Styal, Norcliffe Unitarian Chapel. Founded 1824. Registers of marriages 1840–1890 are at the Cheshire Record Office.
  •  Wilmslow, United Reformed Church (Independent/Congregational). Built in 1847.

Non-Conformist Records:

Church records, 1889-1958 Records contain Latin. Cheshire Record Office call number: ERC 25/5247/1-2, 4.

Cheshire Non-conformist records are available online in FamilySearch Historical Records (formerly known as Record Search)

Other Contents FHL Film
Burials, 1889-1958, Sacred Heart and St. Teresa Catholic Church BRITISH
2068257 Item 4

Church records for the Morley Society of Friends monthly meetings, 1677-1831 Morley is a hamlet in Wilmslow parish.
Cheshire Record Office call numbers: EFC 1/1-3; EFC 1/10/1-3. Cheshire Non-conformist records are available online in FamilySearch Historical Records (formerly known as Record Search)

Other Content FHL Film
Minutes of men's meetings, including intentions and completions of marriages, 1677-1722 (includes Stockport, Macclesfield, and Eaton). BRITISH
2299553 Items 5 - 6
Minutes of men's meetings, including intentions and completions of marriages, 1722-1831 (includes Stockport, Macclesfield, and Eaton) (includes removals, admittances to membership and an index). Minutes of women's meetings, including intentions and completions of marriages and disbursements to the poor, 1703-1730. BRITISH
2326889
Minutes of women's meetings, including intentions and completions of marriages, 1730-1804. BRITISH
2299642 Items 1 - 2

Church records, 1748-1980 Unitarian Chapel (Dean-Row, Cheshire) Dean-Row is a hamlet in the parish of Wilmslow.
Cheshire Record Office no.: EUC/1/1/3

Other Content FHL Film
Baptisms, 1748-1810 Memorandum Burials, 1776-1859 Births, baptisms, 1809-1822 Births, 1817-1863 BRITISH
1736978 Items 13-14
Births, 1864-1980 BRITISH
1736979 Item 1

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts

  •  Altrincham (1837–98)
  •  Bucklow (1898–1974)
  •  Macclesfield (1974–98)
  •  Cheshire East (post 1998)

Poor Law Unions

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848). Date Accessed: 19 April 2013
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 14 October 2013.
  3. 'CPR Project Progress (As on 17 January 2014),' Cheshire Parish Register Project, accessed 1 February 2014.
  4. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 15 October 2013.

Bibliography

  • Richards, Raymond (1947), Old Cheshire Churches, London: Batsford, pp. 355–360
  • Salter, Mark (1995), The Old Parish Churches of Cheshire, Malvern: Folly Publications, pp. 80–81, ISBN 1871731232
  • Pevsner, Nikolaus; Edward Hubbard (2003) [1971], The Buildings of England: Cheshire, New Haven: Yale University Press, pp. 384–385, ISBN 0 300 09588 0

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 17 April 2014, at 04:01.
  • This page has been accessed 3,316 times.