Wilson County, North Carolina GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Wilson County, North Carolina)

United States  Gotoarrow.png  North Carolina  Gotoarrow.png  Wilson County

Guide to Wilson County, North Carolina ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

link=http://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/North Carolina_Online_Genealogy_Records North Carolina
Online Records



Wilson County, North Carolina
Map
Map of North Carolina highlighting Wilson County
Location in the state of North Carolina
Map of the U.S. highlighting North Carolina
Location of North Carolina in the U.S.
Facts
Founded 1855
County Seat Wilson
Courthouse
Adopt-a-wiki page
Logonew small.gif This page adopted by:
NCGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
County Coordinator
Wilson Co. NCGenWeb
Adopt a page today

Contents

County Courthouse

Wilson County Courthouse.jpg
 Wilson County Courthouse
115 E. Nash Street
Wilson, North Carolina  27894

Post Office Box 1608
Wilson, North Carolina  27894

Register Deeds has birth, marriage death and land records
Clerk Superior Court has divorce and court records from 1868
and probate records from from 1855[1]


Wilson County was fromed from Edgecombe, Johston, Nash, Wayne 13 Feb 1855

History

Parent County

1855--Wilson County was created from Edgecombe, Nash, Johnston, and Wayne Counties.
County seat: Wilson [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating North Carolina county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation North Carolina County Boundary Maps" (1664-1965) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

Some of the early records are missing. For a list of record loss in North Carolina counties see: North Carolina Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Populated Places

  • Black Creek
  • Elm City
  • Lucama
  • Saratoga
  • Sims
  • Stantonsburg
  • Wilson

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Ncwilson.png

Cemeteries

Census

For tips on accessing Wilson County, North Carolina Genealogy census records online, see: North Carolina Census.


Church

Wilson County North Carolina Churches

Baptist

Court

Land

Registrar of Deeds Online Recorder's Index Search

Local Histories

Trees of Wilson  -  Wilson County Genealogical Society publication

Maps

Military

Recorded military discharges - Wilson County


Civil War

Civil War Confederate units - Brief history, counties where recruited, etc.

- 2nd Regiment, North Carolina Cavalry, Company E
:- 2nd Regiment, North Carolina Infantry, Company B
:- 2nd Regiment, North Carolina Junior Reserves, Company H
:- 4th Regiment, North Carolina Cavalry (59th North Carolina State Troops), Company H
:- 4th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry, Company F
:- 5th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry, Company G

Newspapers

Probate

Taxation

Vital Records

Obtain copies of Wilson County Birth, Marriage and Death records.

Birth Records
Death Records
Divorce Records
Marriages

Societies and Libraries 

Wilson County Genealogical Society
P.O. Box 802
Wilson 27894-0802

Wilson County Genealogical Society


Wilson County Library  -  East Branch Library   -  1006-C Ward Blvd -  Wilson, NC -  (252)237-2627

Wilson County Library   -  249 Nash Street W  -   Wilson, NC 27893  -   (252) 237-5355


Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Centers for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Web Sites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Wilson County, North Carolina. Page 514 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. George Washington Paschal, History of North Carolina Baptists, 2 vols. (1930; reprint, Gallatin, Tenn.: Church History Research and Archives, 1990), 1:491. FHL Book 975.6 K2p 1990; "Toisnot Church," North Carolina Highway Historical Marker Program, http://www.ncmarkers.com, accessed 22 October 2012.
  4. "Toisnot Church," North Carolina Highway Historical Marker Program, http://www.ncmarkers.com/, accessed 22 October 2012.
  5. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/f/f5/Iginorthcarolinap.pdf.


 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 9 June 2015, at 16:11.
  • This page has been accessed 9,765 times.