Wincanton, SomersetEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

EnglandGotoarrow.png Somerset Gotoarrow.png Somerset Parishes

Wincanton, Somerset
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Norton-Ferris
County Somerset
Poor Law Union Wincanton PLU
Registration District Wincanton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1636
Bishop's Transcripts: 1593
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Cary
Diocese Bath and Wells
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Wells
Location of Archive
Somerset Record Office

Contents

Parish History

WINCANTON (St. Peter and St. Paul), a market-town and parish, and the head of a union, in the hundred of Norton-Ferris, E. division of Somerset, 34 miles (E.) from Taunton, and 108 (W. by S.) from London. There are places of worship for Baptists, the Society of Friends, and Independents.[1]


Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Wincanton, Somerset parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[4]
MARR = Somerset Marriages (FindMyPast) - (£)[5]
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[6]
SOPC = Somerset Online Parish Clerks - free[7]
Wincanton, Somerset Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1636-1912
1607-1912
1636-1913
IGI 1629-1672


JOIN
1607-1766

MARR
1593-1754

NBI

1629-1928
SOPC 1841-1869
1754-1837
1721-1848

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474602.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Somerset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Date accessed and adapted: 27 September 2013.
  2. 'Somerset Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 3 February 2014.
  3. 'IGI Batch Numbers for Somerset, England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 21 October 2013.
  4. 'Somerset Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 18 October 2013.
  5. 'Somerset Marriages', FindMyPast (WayBack Machine), accessed 29 April 2014.
  6. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 17 October 2013.
  7. Somerset Online Parish Clerks Genealogy, accessed 22 October 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 16 July 2014, at 17:23.
  • This page has been accessed 854 times.