Winchester, VirginiaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Virginia Gotoarrow.png Frederick County Gotoarrow.png Winchester (Independent City)

Guide to Winchester, Virginia ancestry, family history and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, immigration records, and military records.

Winchester, Virginia
—  Independent City  —
Location in Virginia
Founded 1874
Website http://www.winchesterva.gov/

Contents

Courthouse

History

Parent County

1874--Winchester became an independent city in 1874. Previously, it had belonged to Frederick County. [1]

Resources

Cemeteries

Church

Court

Chancery Court

  • Indexed images of Winchester, Virginia Chancery Records 1787-1936 are available online through Virginia Memory: Chancery Records Index. These records, often concerned with inheritance disputes, contain a wealth of genealogical information.

Genealogy

Vawinchester.jpg
  • [Page] Rutherford, Dolores Crumrine. The Page Family in Virginia Personal Property Taxes (1782-1850). 2 vols. Carmichael, Calif.: D.C. Rutherford, 2002. FHL Book 929.273 P141rd v. 1-2 [Winchester appears in Vol. 2]

Land

Local Histories

  • Morton, Oren Frederic. The Story of Winchester in Virginia, the Oldest Town in the Shenandoah Valley. Strasburg, Va.: Shenandoah Publishing House, 1925. Available at FHL; digital version at Ancestry ($).

Maps

Military

French and Indian War
  • Bockstruck, Lloyd DeWitt. Virginia's Colonial Soldiers. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., 1988. Available at FHL. [Identifies some Winchester militia officers, soldier enlistments, and veterans; see place name index.]
  • Morton, Oren Frederic. The Story of Winchester in Virginia, the Oldest Town in the Shenandoah Valley. Strasburg, Va.: Shenandoah Publishing House, 1925. Available at FHL; digital version at Ancestry ($). [Includes French and Indian War soldiers.]
Revolutionary War
  • Morton, Oren Frederic. The Story of Winchester in Virginia, the Oldest Town in the Shenandoah Valley. Strasburg, Va.: Shenandoah Publishing House, 1925. Available at FHL; digital version at Ancestry ($). [Includes Revolutionary War soldiers.]
War of 1812
  • Morton, Oren Frederic. The Story of Winchester in Virginia, the Oldest Town in the Shenandoah Valley. Strasburg, Va.: Shenandoah Publishing House, 1925. Available at FHL; digital version at Ancestry ($). [Includes War of 1812 soldiers.]
Civil War

Since Winchester became an independent city in 1874 from Frederick County,[1] go to the Frederick County page for information about the Civil War military units of that area. During the Civil War men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their area.

  • Morton, Oren Frederic. The Story of Winchester in Virginia, the Oldest Town in the Shenandoah Valley. Strasburg, Va.: Shenandoah Publishing House, 1925. Available at FHL; digital version at Ancestry ($). [Includes Civil War soldiers.]
Civil War Battles

The following Civil War battles were fought in Winchester.

Maps of Civil War battles in Virginia: 1861, 1862, 1863, 1864, 1865
World War I
  • Morton, Oren Frederic. The Story of Winchester in Virginia, the Oldest Town in the Shenandoah Valley. Strasburg, Va.: Shenandoah Publishing House, 1925. Available at FHL; digital version at Ancestry ($). [Includes World War I soldiers.]

Newspapers

  • 1798-1820 - Winchester Gazette (Winchester, Va.) at Genealogy Bank ($).
  • 1806-1809 - Philanthropist (Winchester, Va.) at Genealogy Bank ($).
  • 1828-1836 - Winchester Virginian (Winchester, Va.) at Genealogy Bank ($).
  • 1855-1873 - Winchester Virginian at Google News - free.
  • 2009-present - Winchester Star (Winchester, Va.) at Genealogy Bank ($).

Indexed images of the Virginia Gazette (1736-1780) are available online through the Colonial Williamsburg website. In addition, Professor Tom Costa and The Rector and Visitors of the University of Virginia have created a database of all runaway advertisements for slaves, indentured servants, transported convicts, and ship deserters listed in this source and other Virginia newspapers (1736-1803), see: The Geography of Slavery in Virginia. These newspapers are valuable resources for all regions of Virginia.

A wiki article describing an online collection is found at:

Virginia, Winchester, Evening Star Obituaries (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Occupations

  • Cutten, George Barton. The Silversmiths of Virginia (together with Watchmakers and Jewelers) from 1694 to 1850. Richmond, Va.: The Dietz Press, Incorporated, 1952. Available at FHL. [Includes a section on Winchester silversmiths.]

Officials

  • Morton, Oren Frederic. The Story of Winchester in Virginia, the Oldest Town in the Shenandoah Valley. Strasburg, Va.: Shenandoah Publishing House, 1925. Available at FHL; digital version at Ancestry ($). [Includes civil officers, 1743-1908.]

Probate

Taxation

  • [1782] Morton, Oren Frederic. The Story of Winchester in Virginia, the Oldest Town in the Shenandoah Valley. Strasburg, Va.: Shenandoah Publishing House, 1925. Available at FHL; digital version at Ancestry ($). [Includes 1782 list of inhabitants and 1782 list of lot owners.]
  • [1792, 1803] Images of the 1792 and 1803 Personal Property Tax Lists of Winchester, Virginia are available online, courtesy: Binns Genealogy.
  • [1815] Ward, Roger D. 1815 Directory of Virginia Landowners (and Gazetteer). 6 vols. Athens, Georgia: Iberian Pub. Co., 1997-2000. Available at FHL. [The source for this publication is 1815 land tax. Winchester is included in Vol. 4.]

Vital Records

Societies and Libraries

Websites

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 17 August, 2012)
  3. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 7 August 2012).
  4. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 7 August 2012).
  5. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 2 August 2012).
  6. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 17 August, 2012)


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 6 November 2014, at 01:37.
  • This page has been accessed 11,417 times.