Winchester Cathedral, HampshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Hampshire Gotoarrow.png Hampshire Parishes Gotoarrow.png Winchester Cathedral

Guide to Winchester Cathedral, Hampshire family history and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

For an extensive list of the City of Winchester churches and chapels, see "A Comprehensive List of Winchester Churches and Chapels.

Winchester Cathedral, Hampshire
800px-WinCath30Je6-4836wiki.jpg
Winchester Cathedral showing west end, central tower
Type Cathedral
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Winchester Borough
County Hampshire
Registration District Winchester
Records begin
Parish registers: 1485-1598 (a few burials); 1599; no marriages 1754-1869
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Diocese Winchester
Province Canterbury
Location of Archive
Hampshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

WINCHESTER Cathedral (The Holy and Undivided Trinity), a city, having separate jurisdiction, and the head of a union, locally in the hundred of Buddlesgate, Winchester and North divisions of the county of Southampton (Hampshire), of which it is the capital, 63 miles (southwest by west) from London; containing Soke liberty. The ancient parish of Winchester comprises the parishes of St. Bartholomew Hyde Street, which is partly in the Soke liberty; St. Lawrence, the mother church St. Mary Kalendar, later the church was destroyed; St. Maurice- is a rectory, to which the rectories of St. Mary Kalendar, St. Peter Colebrook, St. George, and St. Mary Wood, were united; St. Thomas; St Faith, St. John, St. Michael, St. Peter Cheesehill, St. Martin Winnall, andSt. Swithin, within the Soke liberty, containing together 3361 inhabitants. St Bartholomew Hyde Street chapel, (Hyde Abbey) is supposed to have been originally appropriated to Hyde Abbey. The Priory Chapel church, in High-street, formerly the chapel of a priory, was rebuilt by subscription. The living of St. Peter's Colebrook, the church has been destroyed, as also have those of St. George and St. Mary Wood, The living of St. Thomas' is a discharged rectory, with that of St. Clement united and which the church of St. Clement was subsequently demolished. St. Faith's was annexed to the mastership of the hospital of St. Cross, which is extra-parochial, and in the chapel of which the parishioners attended divine service, the church of St. Faith having been demolished for more than two centuries. St. John's was united to St. Peter's Southgate; The church of St. Peter's Southgate was destroyed.

There are places of worship in the city for Baptists, Independents, and Wesleyans. A Roman Catholic chapel in the later English style, dedicated to St. Peter, was erected in 1792, in St. Peter street.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. Popular sites include:

Church records

Parish registers are available online for Winchester Cathedral and its numerous satellite chapels and ecclesiastical parishes at the following websites:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[2]
DSDC = Dustydocuments.com
FMP =FindMyPast - (£)[3]
FREG = FreeReg.org.uk
FS = FamilySearch - free[4]
GENUKI = GENUKI - free[5]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[6]
KNRT = Knightroots.co.uk
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[7]
PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[8]
WINCHESTER CATHEDRAL or THE HOLY & UNDIVIDED TRINITY (formerly SS PETER & PAUL) (1599) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1599-1812

FMP 1700s-1800s
1700s-1800s
1500s-1800s
FREG 1599-1811 1603-1731
FS 1599-1811
1603-1644, 1670-1754

GENUKI 1599-1811
1603-1731
1580-1813
DSDC
None
None
1689-1837 prt
None
None
None
JOIN
1603-1753

WINCHESTER COLLEGE CHAPEL (1674) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1765-1861 None None None None None
WINCHESTER PRIORY CHAPEL HIGH ST (by 1847) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
DSDC
None
None
1689-1837 prt
None
None
None
WINCHESTER ST BARTHOLOMEW PARISH (1563) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1563-1837

DSDC
1689-1837 prt
FMP 1700s-1800s
1700s-1800s
1500s-1800s
FREG None None 1563-1837 None None None
FS
1780-1882
1780-1836

1780-1882

PALL
1790-1837

PRTS 1780-1812
1780-1812
1780-1812
WINCHESTER ST CLEMENT - see ST MAURICE
WINCHESTER ST CROSS HOSPITAL CHAPEL Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG None None 1674-1837 None None None
PALL
1790-1837

WINCHESTER ST FAITH (1670) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1674-1837

DSDC
None
None
1689-1837 prt
None
None
None
FMP 1700s-1800s
1700s-1800s
1500s-1800s
FS 1780-1857 None 1780-1836 None 1780-1836 None
PRTS 1780-1812
1780-1812
1780-1812
WINCHESTER ST GEORGE - united to ST MAURICE
WINCHESTER ST JOHN (1553) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1700s-1800s
1700s-1800s
1500s-1800s
FS 1800-1859 None 1808-1836 None 1800-1858 None
DSDC
None
None
1689-1837 prt
None
None
None
PRTS 1780-1812
1780-1812
1780-1812
WINCHESTER ST LAWRENCE (1754) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1754-1812

DSDC 1689-1837
FMP 1700s-1800s
1700s-1800s
1500s-1800s
FS 1760-1877 1756-1878 1780-1813, 1841-1862
GENUKI
1754-1812

PALL
1790-1812

PRTS 1780-1812
1780-1812
1780-1812
WINCHESTER ST MARTIN (1680) Online Records - see Winnall

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG None None None None None None
FS 1786-1885 None 1786-1832 None 1786-1886 None
DSDC
None
None
1689-1837prt
None
None
None
WINCHESTER ST MARY'S COLLEGE PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1678-1750

FMP 1700s-1800s

1500s-1800s
FS 1765-1861


GENUKI 1726-1861
1699-1745
1516-1903
JOIN
1699-1745

WINCHESTER ST MARY KALENDAR - united to ST MAURICE
WINCHESTER ST MATTHEW - see WEEKE Parish page
WINCHESTER ST MAURICE (1538) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1651-1675, 1701-1775

DSDC
None
None
1689-1837prt
None
None
None
FMP 1700s-1800s
1700s-1800s
1500s-1800s
FREG 1735-1803 None 1538-1836 None None None
FS 1538-1876 None 1538-1875 None None None
GENUKI
1538-1837

JOIN
1538-1837

KNRT
1734-1803
None
None
None
None
None
PALL
1790-1837

PRTS 1780-1812
1780-1812
1780-1812
WINCHESTER ST MICHAEL  (1632) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1632-1812

DSDC
None
None
1689-1837prt
None
None
None
FMP 1700s-1800s
1700s-1800s
1500s-1800s
GENUKI
1632-1812

JOIN
1632-1812

PALL
1790-1812

PRTS 1780-1812
1780-1812
1780-1812
WINCHESTER ST PETER CHEESHILL (1597) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1595-1837

DSDC
1689-1837 prt
FMP 1700s-1800s
1700s-1800s
1500s-1800s
FREG None None 1597-1836 None None None
PALL
1790-1837

PRTS 1780-1812
1780-1812
1780-1812
WINCHESTER ST SWITHIN (1562) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1562-1812

DSDC 1689-1837 prt
FMP 1700s-1800s
1700s-1800s
1500s-1800s
FREG 1562-1646 None 1562-1814 None 1563-1773 None
FS 1562-1877 None 1564-1875 None None None
GENUKI 1562-1695
1564-1812
1563-1694
JOIN
1564-1812

PALL
1790-1812

PRTS 1780-1812
1780-1812
1780-1812
WINCHESTER ST THOMAS (1670) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1685-1837

DSDC
1689-1837 prt
FMP 1700s-1800s
1700s-1800s
1500s-1800s
FREG None None 1685-1837 None None None
FS 1678-1876
1685-1876

PALL
1790-1837

PRTS 1780-1812
1780-1812
1780-1812
WINCHESTER COLLEGE CHAPEL (1678) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG None None None None None None
FS 1765-1871 None None None None None
DSDC
None
None
1689-1837 prt
None
None
None
WINCHESTER ST PETER COLEBROOK - united to ST  MAURICE

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1811 None None
None None None
DSDC None None 1689-1837 prt None None None
WINCHESTER ST PETER SOUTHGATE - united to ST JOHN

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1811 None None
None None None
DSDC None None 1689-1837 prt None None None


Thomas, James H. William Lowth 1660-1732 Clerical Worthy of Hampshire. Article covers history of William Lowth, and his descendants, who were Ministers of the Faith, in Farnham, Buriton cum Petersfield and Winchester. Also a little of it covers the family. Article to be found in the Hampshire Family Historian, vol. X, no4, pages 173-178, Family History Library Ref. 942.27 B2h

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288809.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Hampshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 592-613. Adapted. Date accessed: 07 June 2013.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. 'Over 1.4 million new Hampshire parish records published', Find My Past, accessed 3 October 2013. Date ranges are not clearly identified.
  4. 'IGI Batch Numbers for Hampshire, England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 5 October 2013.
  5. Phillimore Hampshire Parish Marriage Registers, Vol. 4 (1900). Digital version at GENUKI - free.
  6. 'Hampshire Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 13 September 2013.
  7. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  8. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 2 October 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 13 May 2014, at 07:27.
  • This page has been accessed 6,321 times.