Winchester St John, Hampshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Winchester St John, Hampshire)

England Gotoarrow.png Hampshire Gotoarrow.png Hampshire Parishes

Guide to Winchester St John, Hampshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Winchester St John, Hampshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Winchester Borough
County Hampshire
Poor Law Union Winchester
Registration District Winchester
Records begin
Parish registers: 1578
Bishop's Transcripts: 1780
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Winchester
Diocese Winchester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and Archdeaconry of Winchester
Location of Archive
Hampshire Record Office


Parish History

Winchester St John was an ecclesiastical parish within the city-proper of and boundary of Winchester The Holy & Undivided Trinity. Its parish registers commence from the year 1553. It was one of several such parishes serving this region and city (see Winchester Cathedral page for a fuller list of churches in this area).


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online data content exists for this ecclesiastical church at the following websites and ranges of years:

FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[1]
FS =
PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[2]


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1700s-1800s
None 1808-1836
None 1808-1856
PRTS 1780-1812

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288809.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Hampshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.



  1. 'Over 1.4 million new Hampshire parish records published', Find My Past, accessed 3 October 2013. Date ranges are not clearly identified.
  2. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 2 October 2013.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 June 2015, at 13:26.
  • This page has been accessed 1,435 times.