Winchester St Swithun, HampshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Hampshire Gotoarrow.png Hampshire Parishes Gotoarrow.png Winchester St Swithun

Guide to Winchester St Swithun, Hampshire family history and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Winchester St Swithun, Hampshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Winchester Borough
County Hampshire
Poor Law Union Winchester PLU
Registration District Winchester
Records begin
Parish registers: 1562
Bishop's Transcripts: 1780
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Winchester
Diocese Winchester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and Archdeaconry of Winchester
Location of Archive
Hampshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[1]
FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[2]
FREG = FreeReg.org.uk
FS = FamilySearch - free[3]
GENUKI = GENUKI - free[4]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[5]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[6]
PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[7]
WINCHESTER ST SWITHUN PARISH (1562) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1562-1812

FMP 1700s-1800s
1700s-1800s
1500s-1800s
FREG 1562-1646 None 1562-1814 None 1563-1773 None
FS 1562-1878
1564-1875

GENUKI 1562-1695
1564-1812
1563-1694
JOIN
1564-1812

PALL
1790-1812

PRTS 1780-1812
1780-1812
1780-1812


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288809.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Hampshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  2. 'Over 1.4 million new Hampshire parish records published', Find My Past, accessed 3 October 2013. Date ranges are not clearly identified.
  3. 'IGI Batch Numbers for Hampshire, England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 5 October 2013.
  4. Phillimore Hampshire Parish Marriage Registers, Vol. 4 (1900). Digital version at GENUKI - free.
  5. 'Hampshire Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 13 September 2013.
  6. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  7. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 2 October 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 21 April 2014, at 21:04.
  • This page has been accessed 1,668 times.