Winchmore Hill Holy Trinity, MiddlesexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Middlesex Gotoarrow.png Middlesex Parishes

Guide to Winchmore Hill Holy Trinity, Middlesex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Contents

Parish History

Holy Trinity is in the heart and geographical centre of Winchmore Hill with its Bell Tower being a feature of the local scene. Its bells ring out as a sign of a church that is alive and in the centre of all that goes on in the Parish.[1]

Additional information:

Holy Trinity Winchmore Hill Edmonton, was a more modern district church built in the year 1913. It lay within the civil parish boundaries of Edmonton All Saints.

The Parish Church of the Most Holy Trinity is a modern Catholic parish affiliated to Forward in Faith and under the Episcopal care of the Bishop of Edmonton.

We are a happy and diverse community here in North London and we seek to live together in love and fellowship, waiting on God in prayer and seeking fresh ways of growing in our Christian discipleship. We have a growing congregation with a number of children and young families. We are proud to maintain the Catholic faith as we have received it from the Apostles.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438772.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Middlesex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Poor Law Unions

Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Winchmore Hill in Edmonton on GENUKI

References

  1. Holy Trinity Winchmore Hill Website Holy Trinity Winchmore Hill Website, Adapted. Date Accessed: 21 January 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 21 November 2014, at 17:35.
  • This page has been accessed 942 times.