Wincle, CheshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Parishes Gotoarrow.png Wincle

Guide to Wincle, Cheshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

St Michael's Church. Wincle.jpg

Contents

Parish History

WINCLE, is a chapelry, in the parish of Prestbury, union and hundred of Macclesfield, North division of the county of Chester, 5½ miles (S. E. by S.) from Macclesfield. The chapel was erected about 1642.[1]

Wincle St Michael became a parish in 1725 a chapelry in the ancient parish of  Prestbury, Cheshire.

Wincle’s parish church was built in 1647 on the site of a Neolithic burial mound, and heavily restored in 1882. According to Sir Philip Brocklehurst’s book on the area, it was once said that a certain hospital in Manchester procured the bulk of its anatomical subjects from Wincle church’s graveyard, thanks to an unscrupulous sexton who was bribed to dispatch the bodies the night after they were buried.

Resources

Census Records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241241.

Church records

Wincle St Michael parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
FMP = FindMyPast
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[2]
Wincle St Michael Parish (1803) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's 1800-1875
  NONE
   NONE
  NONE
1803-1925
  NONE
FS BT'S 1813-1872
  NONE
1871-1872
  NONE
1813-1872
  NONE
FMP



1803-1925
1803-1925
NBI

1803-1925

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Prestbury, St. Peter (C of E). The ancient parish church for Wincle.
Wincle, St. Michael (C of E). A chapelry to Prestbury, becoming the parish church for Wincle in 1869 Registers of Baptisms 1803–1875 and Burials 1803–1925 have been deposited at the Cheshire Record Office. Marriage registers from 1871 are held at the church Microfilm of originals at the Cheshire Record Office in Chester, England. Wincle is a township and a chapelry in Prestbury parish. Cheshire Record Office reference: P33/1-3. 

Parish Register Content FHL Film
Baptisms, burials, 1803-1875.  Burials, 1877-1925. BRITISH 2105392 Items 7 - 9

Bishop's Transcripts Microfilm of originals in the Cheshire Record Office, Chester. Chapelry in Prestbury parish.
Cheshire Record Office: EDB 222

Bishop's Transcripts Content FHL Film
Baptisms, burials, 1813-1824, 1826-1870, baptisms, marriages, burials, 1871-1872. BRITISH 1647761 Item 3

Parish of St. Michael, Wincle, County of Cheshire, U.K. (Macclesfield Hundred), burials, 31 Aug. 1803 - 24 Nov. 1925 
Author Taylor, David  Microfiche of original published: [S.l.] : North Cheshire Family History Society, 1998. The chapelry of Wincle is also known as St. Michael's. Wincle is a chapelry in Prestbury parish. Record is in two parts, the first being in chronological order and the second in alphabetical order. Parish of St. Michael, Wincle, baptisms 1803-1875
North Cheshire Family History Society

Notes Added title page: An alphabetical list of baptisms 1803-1875 recorded in the parish registers of St. Michael Wincle, county of Cheshire, U.K.

Non-Conformist Churches

Allgreave, Methodist Chapel (Wesleyan). Built in 1871.

Non-Conformist Records:

Records formerly  held at Manchester Central Library Church Register list:

Baptisms-1732-1754- MFPR 443
Baptisms-1757-1757- MFPR 443
Baptisms-1759-1759- MFPR 443
Burials-1732-1754- MFPR 443
Burials-1757-1757- MFPR 443
Burials-1759-1759- MFPR 443
Marriages-1731-1732- MFPR 443

For original registers of above please enquire at Cheshire Record Office.

The Manchester Room and Greater Manchester County Record Office
Email: archiveslocalstudies@manchester.gov.uk

The Manchester Room@City Library (Local Studies)

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts

  •   Macclesfield (1837–1998)
  •  Cheshire East (post 1998)

Poor Law Unions

Probate Records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848). Date Accessed: 29 March 2013
  2. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 15 October 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 17 April 2014, at 04:01.
  • This page has been accessed 1,808 times.