Windham County, VermontEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Guide to Windham County, Vermont ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

This article is about Windham county in Vermont. For other uses, see Windham (disambiguation).

United States Gotoarrow.png Vermont Gotoarrow.png Windham County

Hand and keyboard.jpg Vermont
Online Records
Windham County, Vermont
Map
Map of Vermont highlighting Windham County
Location in the state of Vermont
Facts
Founded February 22, 1781
County Seat Newfane
Courthouse
Address Windham County Courthouse
Mailing Address: P.O. Box 207, Newfane, VT 05345-0207
Phone: 802-365-7979
Fax: 802-365-4360
Windham County Website

Contents

County Courthouse

Town Clerks have birth, marriage, death and land records; County Clerk has divorce and court records from 1825; Probate Judge has probate records.[1]

Towns Organized Before 1800:
Athens 1780,
Brattleboro 1753,
Brookline 1794,
Grafton 1754,
Guilford 1754,
Halifax 1750,
Jamaica 1780,
Londonderry 1780,
Marlboro 1751,
Newfane 1753,
Putney 1753,
Rockingham 1752,
Townshend 1753,
Woodbury 1781,
Westminister 1752,
Whitingham 1770,
Wilmington 1751,
Windham 1795[1]

History

Parent County

Created 22 February 1781 from Bennington County. [1]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Vermont County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Vermont County Boundary Maps" (1764-1895) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

Places / Localities

VermontNew HampshireMassachusettsWindham CountyBennington CountyRutland CountyWindsor CountySullivan CountyCheshire CountyFranklin CountyBerkshire CountyLondonderryWindhamGraftonRockinghamWestminsterAthensTownshendJamaicaStrattonWardsboroNewfaneBrooklinePutneyDummerstonDoverSomersetWilmingtonMarlboroBrattleboroVernonGuilfordHalifaxWhitinghamReadsboroStamfordSearsburgWoodfordGlastenburySunderlandManchesterWinhallDorsetPeruLandgroveDanbyMt. TaborWestonAndoverLudlowBaltimoreChesterWeathersfieldSpringfieldClarksburgFloridaMonroeRoweHeathColrainShelburneGreenfieldLeydenBernardstonGillNorthfieldErvingWarwickOrangeRoyalstonRichmondWinchesterHinsdaleSwanzeyChesterfieldKeeneWestmorelandSurryGilsumWalpoleAlsteadLangdonAcworthCharlestownUnityClaremont
Modern town borders in Windham County, Vermont.

Towns:

Extinct Towns:[2]

Villages:

  • Bellows Falls
  • Jacksonville
  • Newfane
  • North Westminster
  • Saxtons River
  • Westminster

Communities:

Neighboring Counties

Bennington | Windsor | Franklin County, Massachusetts | New Hampshire counties: Cheshire | Sullivan

Resources

Cemeteries

Church Records

Court Records

Gazetteers

Land and Property

Local Histories

Maps

Vtwindham.jpg

Military Records

Civil War

Regiments and Companies:

- 1st Regiment, Vermont Heavy Artillery, Companies A B C D E F G and H
- 2nd Regiment, Vermont Infantry
- 4th Regiment, Vermont Infantry, Companies D, F and I
- 16th Regiment, Vermont Infantry, Companies B, D, F and I

Newspapers

Probate Records

There are two Windham County Probate Districts

  • Marlboro District - Brattleboro, Dover, Dummerston, Guilford, Halifax, Marlboro, Newfane, Somerset, Stratton, Vernon, Wardsboro, Whitingham and Wilmington.
  • Westminster District - Athens, Brookline, Grafton, Jamaica, Londonderry, Putney, Rockingham (including Bellows Falls), Townshend, Westminster and Windham.

A wiki article describing an online collection is found at:

Vermont, Windham County Westminster District Probates (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Taxation

Vital Records

See also How to order Vermont Vital Records, order electronically online or download an application for Vermont <a title="Vermont Birth Certificate Application" href="http://www.healthvermont.gov/research/records/birth_form.aspx" target="_blank">Birth Certificate</a>, <a title="Vermont Marriage Certificate Application" href="http://www.healthvermont.gov/research/records/marriage_form.aspx" target="_blank">Marriage Certificate</a>, <a title="Vermont Divorce Certificate Application" href="http://www.healthvermont.gov/research/records/divorce_form.aspx" target="_blank">Divorce Certificate</a>, <a title="Vermont Death Certificate Application" href="http://www.healthvermont.gov/research/records/deathcert_form.aspx" target="_blank">Death Certificate</a> Applications to mail.

Societies and Libraries

See also a List of Vermont Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Family History Centers

Historical Society of Windham County
Vermont Rte 30
P.O. Box 246
Newfane, VT 05345
Phone: (802) 365-4148
Email: info@historicalsocietyofwindhamcounty.org
Website: http://www.historicalsocietyofwindhamcounty.org/

Web Sites

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 1.2 Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 699, Windham County, Vermont. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Michael J. Leclerc, Genealogist's Handbook for New England Research, 5th ed. (Boston, Mass.: New England Historic Genealogical Society, 2012), 394-95. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 974 D27g 2012.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 17 December 2014, at 18:00.
  • This page has been accessed 9,746 times.