Windsor County, VermontEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Guide to Windsor County Vermont genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

United States Gotoarrow.png Vermont Gotoarrow.png Windsor County

Hand and keyboard.jpg Vermont
Online Records
Windsor County, Vermont
Map
Map of Vermont highlighting Windsor County
Location in the state of Vermont
Facts
Founded February 22, 1781
County Seat Woodstock
Courthouse
Address Windsor County Courthouse
12 The Green,
Woodstock, VT 05091-1212
Mailing Address: PO Box 458,
Woodstock , VT 05091
Phone: 802-457-2121
Fax: 802-457-3446
Windsor County Website

Contents

County Courthouse

County Clerk  has divorce and city records from 1782; Town Clerks  have birth, marriage, death, burial and land records; Probate Judge  has probate records.

Towns Organized Before 1800:
Andover 1761,
Baltimore 1793,
Barnard 1761,
Bethel 1779,
Bridgewater 1761
,Cavendish 1761,
Chester 1754,
Hartford 1761,
Hartland 1761,
Ludlow 1761,
Norwich 1761,
Plymouth1761,
Pomfret 1761,
Reading 1761,
Royalton 1769,
Sharon 1761,
Springfield 1761,
Stockbridge 1761,
Weathersfield 1761,
Weston 1799,
Windsor 1761,
Woodstock 1761[1]

Brief History

Parent County

Created 22 February 1781 from the Colonial lands. [1]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Vermont County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Vermont County Boundary Maps" (1764-1895) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

Places / Localities

VermontNew HampshireWindsor CountyWindham CountyBennington CountyRutland CountyAddison CountyOrange CountyGrafton CountySullivan CountyCheshire CountyRochesterBethelRoyaltonSharonNorwichStockbridgeBarnardPomfretHartfordBridgewaterWoodstockHartlandPlymouthReadingWest WinsorWindsorLudlowCavendishBaltimoreWeathersfieldWestonAndoverChesterSpringfieldRockinghamWestminsterAthensGraftonTownshendJamaicaWindhamLondonderryStrattonWinhallLandgrovePeruDorsetMount TaborMount HollyWallingfordClarendonShrewsburyRutlandMendonKillingtonPittsfieldChittendenPittsfordGoshenHancockRiptonGranvilleBraintreeBrookfieldRandolphChelseaTunbridgeStraffordVershireWest FairleeFairleeThetfordLymeHanoverLebanonEnfieldPlainfieldGranthamCornishCroydonClaremontNewportCharlestownUnityLangdonAcworthLempsterWalpoleAlsteadMarlow
Modern town borders in Windsor County, Vermont.


Towns:

Villages:

  • Ludlow
  • Perkinsville
  • Woodstock
  • Communities:
  • Ascutney
  • Brownsville
  • Chester Depot
  • Hartford
  • Lewiston
  • Plymouth Notch
  • Quechee
  • Springfield
  • Weathersfield Bow
  • Weathersfield Center
  • West Hartford
  • White River Junction
  • Wilder

Neighboring Counties

Addison | Bennington | Orange | Rutland | Windham | New Hampshire counties: Grafton | Sullivan

Resources

Cemeteries


Smaller Cemeteries
Hartford :Locations Azra Wyman grave North Hartland Rd near N Hartland town line, east side Lat 43.613N Long 72.354W Simonds/Simons, Orange County 

Advent Christian Campground, behind Mt.Olivet cemetery,Rt.5 

Center of Town Cemetery

Old King's Highway (off Town Farm Rd West Hartford) Lat 43.678N Long 72.451W old St Anthony's, Addison County
Center of Town Rd at King's Highway Lat 43.660N Long 72.382W Christian Street, Windsor County  South Main St,adjacent to South End (cremations only) South End
Rt 5 opposite Dothan Brook School Lat 43.688N Long 72.32W Windsor County  South Main St,adjacent to old St Anthony's 

Delano Savage cemetery

Jct of Rt 14 and Jericho St Lat 43.68664N Long 72.39921W

Hartford(Point), Windsor County 

Potters Field Old River Rd on Paronto property

Tucker

Rt 14 near I-91 overpass Lat 43.656N Long 72.328W Mt. Olivet, Windsor County Rt 14 near Sharon town line Lat 43.7211N Long 72.4203W (on private property) West Hartford, Windsor County
Rt 5 near Bugbee St Lat 43.662N Long 72.312W Potwin Family Lot, Windsor County  Rt 14 near W Hartford bridge Lat 43.715N Long 72.418W Wright's Tomb, Windsor County
Potwin property off Red Barn Rd, Quechee (private) Quechee VA Cut-off Rd, White River Junction
Old Quechee Rd,Quechee Lat 43.647N Long 72.416W Russtown, Windsor

Church Records

Court Records

Gazetteers

Land and Property

Local Histories

Click History of Windsor County, Vermont to read this book on the Internet.

Click History of Windsor County, Vermont to find libraries with this book (WorldCat).

Maps

Vtwindsor.jpg

Military Records

Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Windsor County, Vermont served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Windsor County, Vermont:

- 2nd Regiment, Vermont Infantry
- 4th Regiment, Vermont Infantry, Companies B, C, E and K
- 16th Regiment, Vermont Infantry, Companies A, C, E, G, H and K

First Vermont Regiment was mustered into service May 2, 1861 with 782 men and mustered out in July 1861.[2]

Windsor County furnished 2 companies in the First Vermont Regiment
Company B, also known as Woodstock Light Infantry.  Most men came from the town of Woodstock.
Company E, also known as Cavendish Light Infantry.  Most men came from the town of Cavendish.

Second Vermont Regiment was muster in June 20,1861 and mustered out July 15, 1865.  Relatively few recruits were from Windsor County, and most were scattered through companies C, E, and I.

Third Vermont Regiment was mustered in July 16, 1861 and mustered out July 11, 1865.  Many men from Windsor enlisted in this regiment in all companies except company G.

Fourth Vermont Regiment was mustered in September 21, 1861.  Recruits for one year and recruits whose service would end before October 1, 1865 mustered out June 19, 1865.  Ther remainder of the regiment mustered out July 13, 1865.  Probably fewer Windsor men were in this regiment than in the 3rd Regiment.  Windsor men were in all companies.

Fifth Vermont Regiment was mustered in September 16, 1861. Non-veterans were mustered out October 14, 1864. The regiment mustered out June 29, 1865. Few Windsor County men were in this regiment.

Sixth Vermont Regiment was mustered in October 15, 1861 and mustered out June 26, 1865.  Original members, not veterans, were mustered out October 28, 1864. Recruits for one year, and recruits whose term of service would expire before October 1, 1865, were mustered out June 19, 1865.  It was attached to the First Vermont Brigade.  Men from various towns were scattered throughout the companies.

Much of the above information is from the book, History of Windsor County, Vermont, edited by Lewis Cass Aldrich and Frank R. Holmes, 1891. FHL Collection 974.365 H2a.


The Civil War Soldiers and Sailors database can be searched by the name of the serviceman or by regiment then name of the serviceman.

Newspapers

Newspaperarchive.com ($) has historical newspapers available on-line. Their database has North Adams, MA newspapers (1895-1977) covering local news that included Windsor County residents.

Probate Records

Taxation

Vital Records

Birth:
1765-1908: Vermont, Births and Christening: Family Search https://www.familysearch.org/search/collection/show#uri=http://hr-search-api:8080/searchapi/search/collection/1675544
1909-2008: Vermont Birth Records: Ancestry http://search.ancestry.com/search/db.aspx?dbid=1605
1981-2001: Vermont Birth: Ancestry http://search.ancestry.com/search/db.aspx?dbid=8957
Marriage:
1791-1974 Vermont Marriages: Family Search- Microfilm: 1675550 https://www.familysearch.org/search/collection/show#uri=http://hr-search-api:8080/searchapi/search/collection/
1909-2008: Marriage Records: Ancestry http://search.ancestry.com/search/db.aspx?dbid=1606
1981-1984, 1989-2001: Vermont Marriage index: Ancestry http://search.ancestry.com/search/db.aspx?dbid=8956
Death:
1871-1965 Vermont Deaths and Burials: Family Search https://www.familysearch.org/search/collection/show#uri=http://hr-search-api:8080/searchapi/search/collection/1675549
1909-2008: Vermont Death Records: Ancestry http://search.ancestry.com/search/db.aspx?dbid=1607
1981-2001: Vermont Death index: Ancestry http://search.ancestry.com/search/db.aspx?dbid=3269

See also How to order Vermont Vital Records, order electronically online or download an application for Vermont <a title="Vermont Birth Certificate Application" href="http://www.healthvermont.gov/research/records/birth_form.aspx" target="_blank">Birth Certificate</a>, <a title="Vermont Marriage Certificate Application" href="http://www.healthvermont.gov/research/records/marriage_form.aspx" target="_blank">Marriage Certificate</a>, <a title="Vermont Divorce Certificate Application" href="http://www.healthvermont.gov/research/records/divorce_form.aspx" target="_blank">Divorce Certificate</a>, <a title="Vermont Death Certificate Application" href="http://www.healthvermont.gov/research/records/deathcert_form.aspx" target="_blank">Death Certificate</a> Applications to mail.

Societies and Libraries

See also a List of Vermont Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Family History Centers

Web Sites

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 699, Windsor County, Vermont. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Lewis Cass Aldrich, and Frank R. Holmes, History of Windsor County, Vermont (Syracuse, N.Y.: D. Mason, 1891), 110-77, Chapter 10, Windsor County During the War of the Rebellion.

A History of Royalton Vermont with Family Genealogies 1769-1911 (Evelyn M. Wood Lovejoy 1911)


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 28 August 2014, at 16:44.
  • This page has been accessed 9,522 times.