Winfarthing, NorfolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Parishes

Winfarthing, Norfolk
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Diss
County Norfolk
Poor Law Union Guiltcross PLU
Registration District Guiltcross
Records begin
Parish registers: 1614
Bishop's Transcripts: 1691
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Redenhall
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Norfolk
Location of Archive
Norfolk Record Office

Contents

Parish History

WINFARTHING (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Guiltcross, hundred of Diss, E. division of Norfolk, 4¼ miles (N. by W.) from Diss; There are places of worship for Wesleyans andPrimitive Methodists. [1] Includes Goose Green.


Winfarthing is a village and civil parish in the South Norfolk district of Norfolk Winfarthing Wikipedia

Winfarthing St Mary is an Ancient parish in the diocese of Norwich.

The church of St Mary the Virgin, Church Lane, Winfarthing has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building

Frances Blomfield describes the history of the church and parish 'Hundred of Diss: Winfarthing', An Essay towards a Topographical History of the County of Norfolk: volume 1 (1805), pp. 181-190. at British History Online

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Registration Districts:

  • Guiltcross 1837-1901
  • Depwade 1901-1974

Church records

Winfarthing, Norfolk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[2]
FREG = FreeREG - free[3]
FS ATs = England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812 (FamilySearch) - free[4]
FS BTs = England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941 (FamilySearch) - free[5]
TIN = Tinstaafl Transcripts - free[6]
Winfarthing, Norfolk Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1614-1754

FREG 1614-1880
1725-1812
1614-1812
FS ATs 1725-1812 1725-1812 1725-1812
FS BTs Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined
TIN 1813-1880


This parish does not appear at FamilySearch Historical records as no microfilm is held for parish registers, Archdeacon's transcripts are at FamilySearch Historical records see

Content
Film
Baptisms and burials 1725-1812 Marriages 1725-1811
FHL BRITISH Film
1526815 Item 12

Monumental Inscriptions

England Norfolk Monumental Inscriptions (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438852.



Poor Law Unions

Guiltcross Poor Law Union

See also England Norfolk Poor Law Union Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Norfolk Poor Law Unions

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites


References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 613-618. Date accessed:12 August 2013.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 27 February 2014.
  4. 'England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812,' FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  5. 'England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941', FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  6. 'Norfolk Baptism Project 1813 to 1880,' Tinstaafl Transcripts, accessed 10 April 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 17 April 2014, at 03:22.
  • This page has been accessed 1,213 times.