Winford, SomersetEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

EnglandGotoarrow.png Somerset Gotoarrow.png Somerset Parishes

Guide to Winford, Somerset ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Winford, Somerset
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Hartcliffe and Bedminster
County Somerset
Poor Law Union Bedminster PLU
Registration District Bedminster
Records begin
Parish registers: 1655
Bishop's Transcripts: 1598
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Chew
Diocese Bath and Wells
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Bath and Wells (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Somerset Record Office

Contents

Parish History

WINFORD, a parish, with W. village and two hamlets, in Bedminster district, Somerset; 3¾ miles SE of Bourton r. station, and 6 SW of Bristol. It has a post-office under Flaxbourton, Somerset. There are two chapels of ease, a Baptist chapel, two national schools.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Winford, Somerset parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[3]
MARR = Somerset Marriages (findmypast) - (£)[4]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[5]
Winford, Somerset Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1609-1639, 1655-1913
1656-1913
1606-1639, 1655-1913
JOIN
1656-1837

MARR
1609-1754

NBI

1609-1838

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474598.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Somerset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/SOM/Winford/index.html

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, 1870-72. Date accessed and adapted: 27 September 2013.
  2. 'Somerset Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 3 February 2014.
  3. 'Somerset Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 18 October 2013.
  4. 'Somerset Marriages', findmypast (WayBack Machine), accessed 29 April 2014.
  5. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 17 October 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 21:58.
  • This page has been accessed 1,034 times.