Winforton, Herefordshire GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Winforton, Herefordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Kington PLU|
|Parish registers: 1690|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1660|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Hereford (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Herefordshire Record Office|
WINFORTON (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Kington, hundred of Huntington, county of Hereford, 6 miles (N. E. by E.) from Hay. It is beautified by the windings of the river Wye, and is intersected by the Hay and Kington tramway.
Winforton is a village in the civil parish of Willersley and Winforton in Herefordshire.
Winforton St Michael is an Ancient parish in Herefordshire; the church of St Michael has been designated as a grade II* listed building British listed building
See also Herefordshire Churches
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
This parish was withinPresteigne registration district
Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts and other types of church records, such as parish chest records.
The Diocesan Record Office for Herefordshire has deposited Parish registers references BK 87 and AD 59, AD60 and Bishop's transcripts1660-1858
BK87/1 Marriages 1837-1992
BK87/2 Marriage banns certificates [Found loose in BK87/1] 1926-1986
AD 59/1 General register 1691-1799 marriages to 1759 only
AD 59/2 Baptisms and Burials 1800-1812
AD 59/3 Marriages and Banns 1756-1810
Other records include Church wardens Accounts and Overseers records reference N2 and F 83
Herefordshire Archive Service
Herefordshire Record Office
Office Tel No: +44 (0)1432 260750
Link to the Family History Library showing the film numbers in their collection Winforton
FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through the FHC Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
Category:England Family History Centres to locate local Family History Centres in UK
Introduction to LDS Family History Centers to locate outside UK.
Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.
Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)
The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.
Prior to the 1911 census the household schedule was destroyed and only the enumerator's schedule survives.
The 1911 census of England and Wales was taken on the night of Sunday 2 April 1911 and in addition to households and institutions such as prisons and workhouses, canal boats merchant ships and naval vessels it attempted to include homeless persons. The schedule was completed by an individual and for the first time both this record and the enumerator's schedule were preserved. Two forms of boycott of the census by women are possible due to frustration at government failure to grant women the universal right to vote in parliamentary and local elections. The schedule either records a protest by failure to complete the form in respect of the women in the household or women are absent due to organisation of groups of women staying away from home for the whole night. Research estimates that several thousand women are not found by census search.Find my Past 1911 census
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Herefordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- ↑ Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 613-618. Accessed and adapted 10 July, 2013.
Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.
- This page was last modified on 3 February 2015, at 20:52.
- This page has been accessed 1,075 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More