Winnebago County, Wisconsin GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Winnebago County, Wisconsin)

United States Gotoarrow.png Wisconsin Gotoarrow.png Winnebago County

Guide to Winnebago County Wisconsin ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Wisconsin
Online Records



WI Winnebago.png

Contents

County Courthouse

Winnebago County Courthouse
415 Jackson Street
Oshkosh, WI 54901
Phone: 920.236.4888


Register of Deeds has birth and land records from 1861,
marriage records from 1870 and death records; Register
in Probabte has probate records [1]

Historical Facts

Parent County

1840--Winnebago County was created 6 January 1840 from Brown, Calumet, Fond du Lac, andMarquette Counties.
County seat: Oshkosh [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Wisconsin County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Wisconsin County Boundary Maps" (1790-1961) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Wisconsin Counties see: Wisconsin Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places / Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Calumet  • Fond du Lac  • Green Lake  • Outagamie  • Waupaca  • Waushara

WI WINNEBAGO.JPG

Resources

Bible Records

Biography

Cemeteries

BillionGraves:

Census

Church History and Records

The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints

LDS Ward and Branch Records

  • Oshkosh
Lutheran

Oshkosh

  • Records of the American Lutheran Church, Oshkosh, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

Winnebago County

  • Records of the Lutheran Church, Winnebago County, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

Court Records

Crime and Criminals

Directories

Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups

Germans

Gazetteers

Genealogy

History

Land and Property

Maps

Migration

Military History and Records

Civil War

Civil War service men from Winnebago County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are many companies or regiments that were formed from men of Winnebago County.

- 1st Regiment, Wisconsin Cavalry, Companies D and E.
- 3rd Regiment, Wisconsin Cavalry, Companies A and B.
- 5th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry Reorganized, Companies E and K
- 9th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry, Company C
- 10th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry, Company C (These men were from the town of Menasha. There is a town of Menasha in both Winnebago and Calumet Counties.)
- 11th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry, Company K
- 14th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry, Company C

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Obituary

Appleton Public Library Obituary Index which is located on the Fox River located in Outagamie, Calumet and Winnebago Counties.

  • A partial index to obituaries and death notices published in Appleton newspapers. Currently, records are available for the following time periods. There are complete records for 1853-71; 1874; 1920-22; 1939-42; 1944; 1948-52; 1958-1960; 1970; 1980; 1981; 1992-94, and January 1, 2001 to December 6, 2011. Some records from 1848; 1875; 1889; 1899; 1923; 1930; 1945; 1954; 1957; 1969; 1971-73; 1981; 1982; 1987; and 1991 have been indexed.

Periodicals

Probate Records

Repositories

See also a List of Wisconsin Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Archives, Libraries and Museums
County Courthouse
Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Centers for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Societies

Taxation

Vital Records

Birth Records
Marriage Records
Divorce Records
Death Records

Voting Registers

Web Sites

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), p. 760 Winnegago, Wisconsin.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 27 March 2015, at 15:29.
  • This page has been accessed 7,180 times.