Winsham, SomersetEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

EnglandGotoarrow.pngSomersetGotoarrow.pngSomerset Parishes

Guide to Winsham, Somerset ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Winsham, Somerset
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred East Kingsbury
County Somerset
Poor Law Union Chard PLU
Registration District Chard
Records begin
Parish registers: 1559
Bishop's Transcripts: 1599
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Crewkerne
Diocese Bath and Wells
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Dean and Chapter of Wells
Location of Archive
Somerset Record Office

Contents

Parish History

WINSHAM, a parish, in the union of Chard, E. division of the hundred of Kingsbury, W. division of Somerset, 4 miles (E. by S.) from Chard, on the new road to Bridport.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Winsham, Somerset parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
MARR = Somerset Marriages (findmypast) - (£)[3]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[4]
Winsham, Somerset Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1559-1843
1559-1837
1559-1859
MARR
1568-1754

NBI

1559-1812

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474600.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Somerset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/SOM/Winsham/index.html

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Date accessed and adapted: 27 September 2013.
  2. 'Somerset Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 3 February 2014.
  3. 'Somerset Marriages', findmypast (WayBack Machine), accessed 29 April 2014.
  4. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 17 October 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 November 2014, at 19:29.
  • This page has been accessed 1,044 times.